January 21, 2020

Laczynski Earns B1G Star of the Week Accolades

Share

COLUMBUS, Ohio –Tanner Laczynski, a senior on the No. 6 Ohio State men’s hockey team, has been named Big Ten Second Star of the Week, the conference announced Tuesday. Laczynski had four points in the Buckeyes’ 1-0-1 series vs. Notre Dame, sharing the lead in points among B1G skaters last week.

This is Laczynski’s ninth career weekly B1G honor and his third this season (Nov. 26, Jan. 7). His nine honors are tied for the most by a Buckeye, matching goalie Christian Frey (2014-17).

Against the Fighting Irish, Laczynski had four assists, with two in each game. He had the primary assist on Friday’s gametying goal that completed a Buckeye comeback in the third period as the teams tied 4-4. Saturday he had the first assist on the power play goal that stood as the gamewinner in a 2-1 victory. His other helpers were on the goal that started the comeback Friday and on the first goal of the game Saturday. He was +1 in each game and won 17 faceoffs in the series.

Laczynski leads the Buckeyes with 18 assists and 25 points, tying for third in points and ranking second in assists among Big Ten skaters, and his +12 mark is first on the team and fourth in the B1G. He has 134 career points, the second-most among active NCAA skaters, with his 1.06 career points per game average tying for third among all non-freshmen nationally.

This weekend, Laczynski and the Buckeyes (15-6-3, 8-4-2-0 B1G) head to Minnesota (8-10-4, 3-5-4-3 B1G) for a Big Ten series. The teams will meet at 7 p.m. CT/8 p.m. ET Friday and at 7:30 p.m. CT/8:30 p.m. ET Saturday. Game one will be televised by FS North+, with the game also carried by FS Ohio and TSN and on the Fox Sports app. Saturday’s contest will be on BTN and the Fox Sports app. Both games can be heard on Ohio State radio.