May 18, 2020

Kvarnstrom Earns All-Big Ten Honors



2019-20 Schedule | Facebook | Twitter | Instagram

COLUMBUS, Ohio – Ohio State’s Felix Kvarnstrom was named second team All-Big Ten on Monday. Voting for the award was conducted by the league’s 14 head coaches.

Kvarnstrom, a Sweden native and graduate transfer from Lynn University, played in every event and led the team with a 72.94 scoring average and posted four top-20 finishes. As a veteran on team that graduated four seniors the previous season, Kvarnstrom stepped up and provided the leadership the team needed. All 18 of his stroke play rounds counted toward the team score. He also had a team-high 57 birdies on the season and led the team in eagles.

It wasn’t just the stroke play events where Kvarnstrom shined. He went 2-1 in his three matches at the Jack Nicklaus Invitational at Muirfield Village in the fall and was perhaps the best player at the Big Ten Match Play Championship in the spring, winning his three matches 4&3, 4&2 and 6&5.

Kvarnstrom is now the 53rd Buckeye to earn All-Big Ten honors since the conference began the award in 1968. He is using the NCAA waiver granted to spring sport athletes to return for another season in 2020-21.

Also announced on Monday were the league’s 14 Sportsmanship Honorees. The Buckeyes’ representative this year was redshirt-senior Justin Wick. The Upper Arlington, Ohio native earned his marketing degree this spring and was named an OSU Scholar-Athlete for the fourth time.

2019-20 All Big Ten Teams

First Team
Michael Feagles, Illinois
Peter Knade, Maryland
Ryan Davis, Penn State
Joe Weiler, Purdue

Second Team
Jerry Ji, Illinois
Giovanni Tadiotto, Illinois
Gonzalo Leal, Iowa
Brent Ito, Michigan
James Piot, Michigan State
Connor Glynn, Minnesota
Eric McIntosh, Northwestern
Felix Kvarnström, Ohio State
Unanimous selections in ALL CAPS

Big Ten Player of the Year: Christopher Gotterup, Rutgers
Big Ten Freshman of the Year: Jerry Ji, Illinois
Les Bolstad Award: Christopher Gotterup, Rutgers