May 17, 2017

Kruse, Teitelbaum Awarded With B1G Accolades


May 17, 2017

Columbus, Ohio Ida Kruse, a member of Ohio State’s First Varsity Eight, has been named the 2017 Big Ten Rowing Athlete of the Year, the conference announced Wednesday. In addition to Kruse’s award, Andy Teitelbaum was named the Big Ten Coach of the Year for the seventh time in his career. The awards were voted on by head coaches from the Big Ten.

Kruse, a native of Munster, Germany, has rowed as a member of the 1V8 at all six regattas this season and has helped the boat achieve an 8-4 record in races (31-4 overall). The biggest win of the season came via the 1V8 at the Big Ten Championships on Sunday (May 14). Down to the last race of the B1G regatta, Ohio State entered the event trailing Michigan by eight points (116-108). Kruse, along with her teammates, rowed in stunning fashion to win the race and helped Ohio State secure its fifth conference title in a row. Only a sophomore, Kruse becomes the sixth Buckeye to garner this award joining the ranks of Conny Kirsch (2002), Ninett Kossowsky (2006), Claire-Louise Bode (2013), Catherine Shields (2014 & 2016) and Ashley Bauer (2015).

Teitelbaum led Ohio State to its aforementioned fifth conference title in a row this past weekend, an unprecedented mark in the Big Ten; no other Big Ten institution has won the conference title more than twice in a row. The award is Teitelbaum’s fifth in the last seven seasons marking a dominating stretch of Ohio State rowing. The Buckeyes have won a conference-best eight Big Ten titles under the direction of Teitelbaum since 2002.

Ohio State will head to the NCAA Championships in West Windsor, N.J., on Belleville Lake for the final regatta of the season on May 26-28.