March 30, 2020

Kollin Moore Finishes as Hodge Trophy Runner-up


Facebook | Twitter | Instagram

COLUMBUS, Ohio – Ohio State redshirt senior Kollin Moore finished second in the Dan Hodge Trophy final tally, receiving three first-place votes. He won all 27 matches this season and was to be the No. 1 seed at 197 pounds for the NCAA Championships after capturing his third career Big Ten title.

Spencer Lee of Iowa was selected as the 2020 Hodge Trophy recipient.

Moore’s 27-0 season record came with dominating bonus totals of 10 major decisions, six tech falls and four pins. He accomplished those numbers against high-quality competition, facing top-25 opponents in nearly half (13) of his bouts and garnering bonus points in eight of those clashes. In the 23 matches Moore did not pin his adversary, he outscored the competition 341-116 (+225) to average an aggressive 14.8 points per showing.

Often referred to as “the Heisman Trophy of college wrestling,” the Hodge Trophy is voted on by a committee consisting of former Hodge recipients, national media, retired college coaches from each region, a representative of each national wrestling organization and a fan vote hosted by WIN Magazine.