February 12, 2018

Katie Smith Selected for 20th Women’s Basketball Hall of Fame Class


Feb. 12, 2018

COLUMBUS, Ohio – Ohio State legend Katie Smith added another accolade to her mantle on Monday as she was named to the 20th class of the Women’s Basketball Hall of Fame.

Smith joins a group of over 160 women that have earned the distinct honor over the past 20 years. The Women’s Basketball Hall of Fame opened in June 1999 in Knoxville, Tenn. It is the only facility of its kind dedicated to all levels of women’s basketball.

Smith, who was a two-time All-American for the Buckeyes from 1993-96, helped guide Ohio State to the NCAA championship game as a freshman, and went on to break the Big Ten scoring record for points scored in a career in men’s or women’s basketball. On Jan. 21, 2001, Ohio State honored her as the first female Buckeye athlete to have her number retired.

A 15-year veteran of the WNBA, Smith went on to be a seven-time All-Star and two-time First Team All-WNBA selection. She won WNBA Championships in 2006 and 2008 with the Shock, and in 2011 was voted one of the Top 15 Players in WNBA history. She ranks first in the WNBA in both three-point field goals made (906) and attempted (2,466), second in career points (6,452), fourth in free throws made (1,440) and 10th in all-time assists (1,258). Smith also is a three-time Olympic Gold Medalist in 2000, 2004 and 2008.

The Class of 2018 will be introduced at the NCAA Women’s Final Four in Columbus in just 48 days and formally inducted into the Women’s Basketball Hall of Fame on June 9. The other members of the Class of 2018 are: Ceal Barry (coach), Rose Marie Battaglia (veteran, contributor), Chris Dailey (contributor – assistant coach), Mickie DeMoss (contributor – assistant coach), Chamique Holdsclaw (player) and Tina Thompson (player).