May 15, 2018

Karen Dennis Tabbed Big Ten Outdoor Coach of the Year


COLUMBUS, Ohio – After leading the Ohio State men’s track & field team to its first Outdoor Big Ten Championship since 1993, OSU director of track & field Karen Dennis has been named the Men’s Big Ten Outdoor Coach of the Year, announced by the conference office on Tuesday.

Dennis becomes the first female to receive the honor for the outdoor season, after becoming the first female to receive the Big Ten Indoor Coach of the Year award earlier this season.

The Ohio State men’s team completed the indoor-outdoor sweep at the Big Ten Outdoor Championships in Bloomington, Ind., on May 11-13. The men’s team claimed the conference title with a total of 109 points, 21 ahead of the runner-up and host Indiana. This marks Dennis’s sixth conference title at the helm of the Ohio State track & field program, with two men’s conference championships this year as well as four women’s titles in the past eight seasons.

Eight Buckeyes on the men’s side received All-Big Ten honors at the event, led by four individual Big Ten Champions. Senior Zack Bazile won the long jump with a mark of 8.03m (26’4.25”), freshman Eric Harrison Jr. claimed the 200m title with a time of 20.39, while the team of Harrison Jr., senior Duan Asemota, senior Drelan Bramwell and Bazile earned the 4x100m title with a time of 38.93.

Ohio State’s two Sportsmanship Award honorees are Bramwell for the men’s team and sophomore Alexus Pyles on the women’s side. The students chosen are individuals who have distinguished themselves through sportsmanship and ethical behavior. These students must also be in good academic standing and have demonstrated good citizenship outside of the sports-competition setting.

Ohio State track & field prepares for the NCAA East Preliminaries in Tampa, Fla., on May 24-26.