May 17, 2018

Ohio State Sending 38 Entries To NCAA East Preliminaries



The Ohio State track & field team will send 38 entries to the NCAA East Preliminaries on May 24-26 in Tampa, Fla., hosted by South Florida at the USF Track & Field Stadium, announced on Thursday. Those 38 entries are the most since OSU sent 40 to the East Preliminaries in 2015.

To qualify, athletes must achieve a mark inside the Top 48 in their respective region. The Top 12 finishes in the Preliminaries will advance to the NCAA Championships in Eugene, Ore., on June 6-9.

The sprinters lead the way with 13 entries from 11 individuals, with freshman Eric Harrison Jr. and freshman Anavia Battle both pulling double duty in the 100m and 200m. Eight Buckeyes will compete in the distance events, while four jumpers and four throwers will represent the Scarlet and Gray. A pair of hurdlers and pole vaulters round out the individual Buckeye contingent, and OSU will send 4x100m and 4x400m teams on the men and women’s side.

Fifteen individual men from the recently crowned Big Ten Outdoor Championship squad will travel to Tampa, while 14 individuals from the women’s team will compete.

Senior Duan Asemota will run in the 100m dash after qualifying with a career-best mark of 10.22 at the Big Ten Championships for a silver medal finish. Senior Zack Bazile will both jump and sprint, qualifying in the 100 by running a 10.23 in the Big Ten Championships prelim. Harrison completes the 100m effort on the men’s side, finishing at 10.28 multiple times this season. On the women’s side, Battle is the lone Buckeye making an appearance after running an 11.33 at the USC Power 5 Challenge.

The Big Ten Champion in the 200m, Harrison is seeded eighth with his title-winning mark of 20.39. Junior Nick Gray will compete in the 200m dash as well, qualifying off of his runner-up finish at Big Tens of 20.55. Battle will run in the 200m for the women’s team, after a runner-up finish at the Big Ten Championships with a time of 22.94.

Senior Maggie Barrie is the No. 4-seed in the 400m dash, clocking in at a career-best 51.36 to finish second at the Big Ten Championships. Junior Karrington Winters set a PR at the Big Ten Championships with a time of 52.49 to qualify as the 16th seed, and sophomore Tamani Wilson completes the women’s 400m squad, setting a PR at the USC Power 5 Challenge by clocking in at 53.09. Freshman Andre Jeff ran a 46.85 400m dash at the USC Power 5 Challenge, while senior Drelan Bramwell set a PR in the 400m prelim at the Big Ten Championships with a time of 46.94. Sophomore Asa Burke finishes out the 400m group, also with a mark of 46.94 from Big Ten prelims.

For the mid-distance crew, sophomore Alex Lomong is the lone athlete on the men’s side running the 800m, seeded fourth with a time of 1:47.43. Sophomore Annie Ubbing leads the women’s team with a No. 16-seed in the 800m, clocking in at 2:05.79 at the Jesse Owens Track Classic. Senior Courtney Clody qualified with a 2:06.38 personal-best from the Big Ten Championships, and freshman Aziza Ayoub is the final female Buckeye to qualify in the 800m with a time of 2:07.30 from the Jesse Owens Track Classic. Sophomore Julia Rizk will appear in the 1500m, seeded 13th with a time of 4:18.25 from a first-place finish in the Big Ten Championships prelim.

Sophomore Abby Nichols will run the women’s 5,000m, qualifying with a personal-best mark of 16:31.85 from the Raleigh Relays. Senior Christine Frederick represents the Buckeyes in the 10,000m after clocking in at a career-best 34:24.74 at the Raleigh Relays. Junior Claire Wiles joins Frederick in the 10,000m, also achieving a personal-best time of 35:09.76 at the Raleigh Relays earlier this season.

The hurdles will feature ninth-seeded junior DaJuan Seward, who PR’ed at the Big Ten Championships with a 13.64 100m hurdles time. Senior and No. 16-seed Chantel Ray, who owns a 13.11 100m hurdle from the Tennessee Relays, competes on the women’s side.

The men’s 4x100m relay team is seeded third with a time of 38.93, while the women’s team qualified at No. 15 with a time of 44.63. The women’s 4x400m relay team is seventh with a season-best time of 3:31.33, and the men’s 4x400m team is the 12th-seed with a time of 3:06.72.

Senior Cole Gorski comes in as the seventh seed in the pole vault after clearing a 5.50m vault at the Jim Click Shootout in April. Junior Coty Cobb will also appear in the pole vault, qualifying with a season-best mark of 5.31m at the Big Ten Championships.

Senior Zack Bazile leads the jumpers with a fifth-seed in the long jump, qualifying with a Big Ten Championship-winning leap of 8.03m. Sophomore Taylor DeLoach represents the women’s team, setting a personal-best at the Big Ten Championships with a mark of 6.20m to qualify. Seward will compete in both the hurdles and the triple jump, seeded 11th with a mark of 16.00m from the Big Ten Championships. Junior Mikaela Seibert competes in the triple jump for the women’s team after a 12.72m jump this season at the USC Power 5 Challenge.

Senior Nick Demaline is the No. 6 seed in the shot put, throwing a season-best of 20.14m at the Big Ten Championships. Senior Max Seipel joins Demaline in the shot with a throw of 17.96m from the Jesse Owens Track Classic, while freshman Chance Ehrnsberger rounds out the shot put squad with a 17.86m qualifying mark from the Jesse Owens Track Classic.

Ehrnsberger will also compete in the discus, heaving a 55.71m throw at the Big Ten Championships to qualify as the 19th seed. Senior Aaron Zedella will participate in the hammer throw, after recording a career-best mark of 65.07m at the Big Ten Championships.

Entries List – NCAA East Prelimiary
May 24-26 – Tampa, Fla.
Men’s Team

21. Duan Asemota – 10.22
22. Zack Bazile – 10.23
27. Eric Harrison Jr. – 10.28

8. Eric Harrison Jr. – 20.39
16. Nick Gray – 20.55

34. Andre Jeff – 46.85
38. Drelan Bramwell – 46.94
40. Asa Burke – 46.94

4. Alex Lomong – 1:47.43

110m Hurdles
9. DaJuan Seward – 13.64

4x100m Relay
3. Ohio State – 38.93

4x400m Relay
12. Ohio State – 3:06.72

Pole Vault
7. Cole Gorski – 5.50m
17. Coty Cobb – 5.31m

Long Jump
5. Zack Bazile – 8.03m

Triple Jump
11. DaJuan Seward – 16.00m

Shot Put
6. Nick Demaline – 20.14m
29. Max Seipel – 17.96m
31. Chance Ehrnsberger – 17.94m

19. Chance Ehrnsberger – 55.71m

21. Aaron Zedella – 65.07m

Women’s Team

24. Anavia Battle – 11.33

11. Anavia Battle – 22.94

4. Maggie Barrie – 51.36
16. Karrington Winters – 52.49
26. Tamani Wilson – 53.09

16. Annie Ubbing – 2:05.79
22. Courtney Clody -2:06.42
37. Aziza Ayoub – 2:07.30

13. Julia Rizk – 4:18.25

46. Abby Nichols – 16:31.85

22. Christine Frederick – 34:24.74
43. Claire Wiles – 35:09.76

100m Hurdles
16. Chantel Ray – 13.11

4x100m Relay
15. Ohio State – 44.63

4x400m Relay
7. Ohio State – 3:31.33

Long Jump
26. Taylor DeLoach – 6.20m

Triple Jump
37 – Mikaela Seibert – 12.72m