February 27, 2018

Karen Dennis Named Big Ten Indoor Coach of the Year, Bazile Named Field Athlete of Championships


Feb. 27, 2018

Columbus, Ohio – Fresh off leading the Ohio State men’s track and field team to its first indoor Big Ten title since 1993, Karen Dennis has been named the Men’s Big Ten Indoor Coach of the Year.

Dennis becomes the first female director of track and field in the Big Ten to earn this award and she was the first female to lead a men’s team to a conference title in the Big Ten. Dennis now has five conference titles under her belt. She helped the women’s team win both the indoor and outdoor titles in 2011, the outdoor title in 2012, and the indoor title in 2015. The men’s title over the weekend was the sixth in program history and first under the direction of Dennis.

Zack Bazile was named the Male Field Athlete of the Championships for his performance in the long and triple jump. Entering the meet as the favorite in the long jump, Bazile lived up to the hype leaping a Spire Institute record of 8.04m (26-4.50) to claim his second career indoor B1G gold medal. Bazile’s other score came in the triple jump where he leaped out to a personal-best mark of 15.69m (51-5.75) to place fifth. He tallied up 14 of Ohio State’s 101.5 points to help the Buckeyes win the team title. Bazile will head to the NCAA Championships (March 9-10) with the best mark in the nation. Bazile becomes the first Ohio State field athlete to receive this award since Dan Taylor did so in 2003.

The Sportsmanship honorees from Ohio State were Karrington Winters and Paul Bete.