Nov. 28, 2011

COLUMBUS, Ohio – Ohio State junior defensive lineman John Simon was named to the 2011 All-Big Ten First Team Monday by the coaches.

Simon led the Buckeyes with seven sacks and 15 tackles for loss, figures that ranked tied for second and sixth, respectively, in the Big Ten. The Youngstown, Ohio, native and 2010 honorable mention All-Big Ten selection recorded 50 tackles and broke up three passes while starting all 12 contests. In addition, Simon was named a semifinalist for the annual Lott IMPACT Trophy.

Senior center Michael Brewster, senior linebacker Andrew Sweat and junior safety C.J. Barnett earned second team All-Big Ten honors by the coaches while Simon and senior offensive tackle Mike Adams garnered second team laurels from the media. Sweat also was named the Buckeyes’ Big Ten Sportsmanship Award honoree.

An FWAA and Phil Steele first team All-American last season, Brewster, from Orlando, Fla., started all 12 games this season, 48-consecutive in his career, and was named to the Rimington and Outland Trophy watch lists.

Sweat, a native of Washington, Pa., led the Buckeyes in tackles before suffering an injury against Purdue which forced him to miss the final two regular season contests but still finished with 68 tackles to rank second on the team. He recorded five tackles for loss, an interception and three pass break-ups.

Barnett, from Dayton, Ohio, finished the regular season leading the Scarlet and Gray with 69 tackles while intercepting a pair of passes and breaking up six in 12 starts.

A native of Dublin, Ohio, Adams started the final seven games of the season at left tackle and helped the Buckeyes rank fourth in the Big Ten with 195.7 rushing yards per contest.

In addition, Johnathan Hankins, Dan Herron, Jack Mewhort and Jake Stoneburner earned honorable mention All-Big Ten honors from the coaches while Barnett, Brewster, Hankins, Mewhort, Tyler Moeller, Andrew Norwell, Stoneburner and Sweat were named honorable mention All-Big Ten by the media.