The Jim Thorpe Award Screening Committee in Oklahoma City has announced 12 semi-finalists for the award given annually to the nation’s best college defensive back.

This list will be narrowed on November 19, to three finalists who will be invited to the nationally telecast Home Depot ESPNU College Football Awards Show on December 6. The winner will be announced on the show and the official presentation will be at a formal banquet in Oklahoma City on February 12, 2007.

The 2007 award marks the 21st anniversary of the trophy, first presented in 1986 to Baylor’s Thomas Everett. Last year’s winner was University of Texas standout Aaron Ross, now playing for the New York Giants.

Thorpe Award winners are selected for performance on the field, athletic ability and character.

The 2007 semi-finalists are:
Trey Brown, Sr., UCLA
Antoine Cason, Sr., Arizona
Vontae Davis, Soph., Illinois
Malcolm Jenkins, Jr., Ohio State
Mike Jenkins, Jr., South Florida
Kenny Phillips, Jr., Miami
James Silva, Sr., Boston College
Reggie Smith, Jr., Oklahoma
Craig Steltz, Sr., LSU
Julius Stinson, Sr., Wyoming
Aqib Talib, Sr., Kansas
Tom Zbikowski, Sr., Notre Dame

The Thorpe Award preseason Watch List is determined on a point system based on preseason All-American teams. Other players are added to the list based on their performance during the season. Of this year’s semi-finalists, Trey Brown, Vontae Davis, Mike Jenkins, James Silva, Craig Steltz and Julius Stinson were not on the preseason Watch List.