July 10, 2018

Jaclyn Lee, Adeena Shears Named Big Ten Distinguished Scholars


RELATED INFO: Follow the Buckeyes on FacebookTwitter and Instagram | Big Ten Distinguished Scholars

COLUMBUS, Ohio – Two members of the 2017-18 Ohio State women’s golf team have garnered Big Ten Distinguished Scholar honors, the Big Ten announced Tuesday. To earn the recognition, recipients must earn Academic All-Big Ten recognition in the previous academic year, must have been enrolled full-time at the institution for the entire previous academic year (two semesters or three quarters) and earned a minimum grade-point average of 3.70 or better during the previous academic year, excluding any summer grades.

Junior Jaclyn Lee and sophomore Adeena Shears each earned the honor after picking up WGCA All-American Scholar laurels last week. The award is the second such honor for Lee and the first for Shears.

This past season, the Buckeyes advanced to the NCAA Championships for the 17th time overall and the sixth since 2011. Lee garnered second team All-America honors, tying for fifth at NCAA Championships, after earning medalist honors at Big Ten Championships.