November 29, 2017

J.T., Price, Jamarco and Jordan First-Team All-Big Ten


Nov. 29, 2017

COLUMBUS, Ohio J.T. Barrett is a first-team all-Big Ten Conference quarterback for the third time and he was joined on the all-Big Ten first team by a trio of his offensive linemen – center Billy Price, left tackle Jamarco Jones and right guard Michael Jordan – as the league announced its offensive honorees Wednesday.

Freshman running back J.K. Dobbins, who is just 47 yards from the school record for rushing yards by a freshman, was the lone Buckeye on the all-Big Ten second team offense while receiver Parris Campbell and right tackle Isaiah Prince earned third-team honors.

The all-Big Ten defense, including 14 Ohio State honorees, was announced on Monday. Ohio State had a total of 24 different players honored as either first-, second- or third-team all-Big Ten Conference or honorable mention all-Big Ten this year.

Barrett, a finalist for the Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award, was the first-team quarterback by both the coaches and the media. A holder of 36 school or Big Ten records, he has been one of the top quarterbacks in the country this year with 33 touchdowns, a 66.2 completion percentage and a 164.95 efficiency rating. He has also rushed for 672 yards and nine touchdowns.

Price, a candidate for the Rimington Trophy as the nation’s top center, repeats as a first-team honoree on both ballots. Price, who is from Austintown, Ohio, near Youngstown, has started a school-record 53 consecutive games.

Jones, from Chicago, was also named a first-team performer on both the coaches and media ballots. Jordan, the sophomore guard who has started every game the past two years, was named first-team all-Big Ten by the coaches.

Honorable mention all-Big Ten honors on offense were awarded to TE Marcus Baugh, WR Johnnie Dixon, WR K.J. Hill and RB Mike Weber.

Ohio State’s 2017 All-Big Ten Conference Honorees

First Team
• Graduated QB J.T. Barrett
• Graduated C Billy Price
• Senior LT Jamarco Jones
• Sophomore RG Michael Jordan
• Sophomore DE Nick Bosa
• Graduated DE Tyquan Lewis
• Junior CB Denzel Ward

Second Team
• Freshman RB J.K. Dobbins
• Junior DE Sam Hubbard
• Junior RS Parris Campbell

Third Team
• Junior RT Isaiah Prince
• Junior WR Parris Campbell
• Senior SAF Damon Webb
• Sophomore DT Dre’Mont Jones
• Sophomore SAF Jordan Fuller
• Junior K Sean Nuernberger
• Freshman P Drue Chrisman

Honorable Mention
• Senior TE Marcus Baugh
• Junior WR Johnnie Dixon
• Sophomore WR K.J. Hill
• Sophomore RB Mike Weber
• Sophomore CB Damon Arnette
• Junior LB Jerome Baker
• Senior DE Jalyn Holmes
• Senior LB Chris Worley

Ohio State’s Big Ten sportsmanship award honoree is graduated senior defensive tackle Tracy Sprinkle.

The Big Ten’s individual major award winners will be announced on Thursday.