July 14, 2016

J.T. Barrett One of 30 on O’Brien Award Watch List


July 14, 2016


COLUMBUS, Ohio — Ohio State junior quarterback and two-time team captain J.T. Barrett is one of 30 quarterbacks named today to the Davey O’Brien Award watch list. The award is presented by the Davey O’Brien Foundation, located in Fort Worth, Texas.

Barrett, who previously was named to the Maxwell Award watch list, is from Wichita Falls, Texas, and Rider High School. He is 15-2 as an Ohio State starting quarterback.

Fifth in the Heisman Trophy voting as a freshman in 2014 when he led Ohio State to an 11-1 record and to the Big Ten championship game, Barrett was 4-1 as a starter last season with season-capping wins over Michigan, 42-13, and Notre Dame, 44-28 in the BattleFrog Fiesta Bowl.

A semifinalist for the O’Brien Award two years ago, Barrett now enters his junior campaign with the Buckeyes needing just 13 touchdown passes for the Ohio State career mark, currently at 57 by Bobby Hoying. His 77 touchdowns responsible for are just 11 fewer than Braxton Miller’s school record of 88. Barrett also enters the season with a career passing efficiency rating of 160.06; the Big Ten record is held by Troy Smith at 157.1. Barrett is three completions shy of qualifying for the record.

Sixteen semifinalists for the award will be named on Thursday, Nov. 10. From that list, the Foundation and the Selection Committee will announce the three finalists on Tuesday, Nov. 22. The 2016 Davey O’Brien Award winner will be announced live Thursday, Dec. 8 on The Home Depot College Football Awards.

Buckeyes on 2016 Watch Lists