December 7, 2017

J.T. Barrett a Finalist for Earl Campbell Tyler Rose Award


Dec. 7, 2017

COLUMBUS, Ohio J.T. Barrett, the three time Big Ten Conference quarterback of the year, was named today as a finalist for the Earl Campbell Tyler Rose Award, which honors the outstanding college football player from the state of Texas. Barrett was also a finalist for the award in 2014 when he led the Buckeyes to the cusps of Big Ten and College Football Playoff championships.

A graduated, fifth-year player from Wichita Falls, Texas, and Rider High School, Barrett has led the No. 5-ranked Buckeyes to an 11-2 season and to a Big Ten championship game win over the No. 3-ranked Wisconsin Badgers, 27-21, last Saturday in Indianapolis. Barrett has thrown for 2,939 yards and 35 touchdowns and added another 732 yards rushing and 10 more scores.

He has led the Buckeyes to 523.6 offensive yards per game – sixth-best nationally – behind a balanced attack of 274.2 passing yards per game and 249.4 rushing yards per game. Ohio State is the only team in the nation this year to have more than 3,000 rushing and 3,000 passing yards.

The only three-time captain in school history, Barrett’s leadership and toughness were tested to the max the week of the championship game against Wisconsin. He was injured in a freak, pregame injury before the Michigan game the week before and played into the third quarter of that win. He had a surgical procedure the very next day, lived in the training room the next week and led the Buckeyes to the win over Wisconsin six days later by throwing for 211 yards and two touchdowns plus rushing for 60 more yards and another score.

Barrett owns 35 Ohio State and Big Ten records, including Big Ten marks for touchdowns responsible for (145) and touchdown passes (104). He is also a finalist this year for the Davey O’Brien Quarterback of the Year award as well as the Senior CLASS Award.

The winner will be announced at the award banquet in Tyler, Texas on January 10, 2018. All finalists will be invited to the event and the emcee is Ron Franklin, legendary sports commentator, former voice of ESPN College Football and the Houston Oilers.

Fans can vote for their favorite finalist daily at

Earl Campbell Tyler Rose Award Finalists:
J.T. Barrett, Ohio State, QB, Graduate – Wichita Falls, TX (Rider HS) – Big Ten
• Ronald Jones, II, USC, TB, Junior – McKinney, TX (McKinney North HS) – Pac-12
• Baker Mayfield, Oklahoma, QB, Senior – Austin, TX (Lake Travis HS) – Big 12
• Jarrett Stidham, Auburn, QB, Sophomore – Stephenville, TX (Stephenville HS) – SEC
• James Washington, Oklahoma State, WR, Senior – Stamford, TX (Stamford HS) – Big 12