November 20, 2017

J.T. Barrett a Davey O’Brien Award Finalist


Nov. 20, 2017

COLUMBUS, Ohio – Ohio State quarterback J.T. Barrett was today named one of three finalists for the Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award. The Davey O’Brien Foundation, out of Fort Worth, Texas, announced the three finalists.

The team captain Barrett, and the only three-time captain in school history, is having a terrific senior season with 2,698 yards passing and 32 touchdowns for the No. 8 team in the country. He has rushed for an additional 605 yards and eight more scores, and he is currently second nationally in both points responsible for (242) and points responsible for per game (22.4).

Barrett, from Wichita Falls, Texas, has accounted for at least three touchdowns in 10 of 11 games on the year. He ranks fifth in the nation in touchdown passes (32), sixth in passing efficiency (166.3), completion percentage (.669) and total quarterback rating (83.5), and 17th in total offense (300.3).

Barrett is attempting to become the Buckeyes’ second Davey O’Brien winner, joining Troy Smith (2006). The other two 2017 finalists for the award are Baker Mayfield of Oklahoma and Mason Rudolph of Oklahoma State.