November 21, 2019

J.K. Dobbins Named a Doak Walker Award Semifinalist


COLUMBUS, Ohio – Junior running back J.K. Dobbins, who is currently fourth nationally in rushing yards, fifth in rushing average and second in yards per carry, has been named one of 10 semifinalists for the Doak Walker Award, the PwC SMU Athletic Forum announced today.

Three finalists for the award will be named Monday, November 25. The Doak Walker Award national selection committee will cast a second vote to select the 2019 award recipient. The 2019 Doak Walker Award recipient will be announced live on The Home Depot College Football Awards on Thursday, December 12 on ESPN.

In addition to being named a Doak Walker Award semifinalist, Dobbins is also a semifinalist for the Earl Campbell Tyler Rose Award, which is presented annually to the top offensive player in the country who was born in the state of Texas, attended a Texas high school, or attended a Texas junior college or university.

Dobbins has been nothing short of outstanding in his third year as a starter for the Buckeyes. A La Grange, Texas native, Dobbins has 1,289 yards on 183 carries this season (7.0 yards/carry). Perhaps just as impressively, he’s put up those numbers despite having just 42 total second half carries and has gone four games without any second half attempts.

Earlier this season, in a 38-7 win over then-No. 13 Wisconsin, Dobbins became the first Buckeye to rush for 1,000 yards as a freshman, sophomore and junior. He enters Saturday’s contest vs. No. 8 Penn State needing just 24 yards to pass 1995 Heisman Trophy winner Eddie George for third place on Ohio State’s career rushing list. George was the last – and only – Buckeye to win the Doak Walker Award (in 1995).

Bolstered by Dobbins’ stellar play, Ohio State ranks fourth nationally in rushing offense (287.4 yards/game), fourth in total offense (541.7 yards/game) and first in scoring offense (51.5 points/game).

Ohio State Major Award Semifinalists/Finalists
J.K. Dobbins – Doak Walker Award
Chase Young – Maxwell Award, Bednarik Award and Bronko Nagurski Trophy (finalist)
Justin Fields – Davey O’Brien Award
Jeff Okudah – Jim Thorpe Award and Bednarik Award
Jordan Fuller – Lott IMPACT Trophy and William V. Campbell Trophy (finalist)