COLUMBUS, Ohio – Logan Stieber, a 2010 incoming freshman on the Ohio State wrestling team, was named the winner of the Dave Schultz High School Excellence National Award the National Wrestling Hall of Fame & Museum announced Tuesday. Just last week, Stieber was awarded the Junior Hodge Trophy.

Named in honor of Olympic and World Champion Dave Schultz, the High School Excellence Award is presented to the student-athlete who exhibits excellence in wrestling, scholastic achievement, character, citizenship and community service. Wrestling Insider Newsmagazine (WIN) and the Amateur Athletic Union select the recipient of The Junior Hodge Trophy, which recognizes the nation’s top high school wrestler.   

“Excellence has defined Logan’s high school career on the mat, in the classroom and in the community,” Tom Ryan, Ohio State head coach, said. “Logan was born to be a Buckeye. He has a great family support network and truly understands the commitment needed to win NCAA titles and an Olympic gold medal. Buckeye nation will enjoy following his career.”

The 2010 Ohio Wrestler of the Year, Stieber recently became just the 19th four-time Ohio High School Athletic Association state wrestling champion, recording a 16-0 record in those four tournaments. Capping his career with a 179-match winning streak, the 125-pounder lost only one match (184-1) his entire high school career. He also recorded 134 pins in his career.

Stieber’s other impressive credentials include winning three USA Wrestling national championships in the freestyle division. A Greco-Roman champion (Cadet and Junior), Stieber is a FILA Junior national champion in freestyle.