April 10, 2017

Inaugural MIVA Hall of Fame Class Filled with Buckeyes


April 10, 2017


COLUMBUS, Ohio – The Midwestern Intercollegiate Volleyball Association announced its inaugural Hall of Fame class on Monday (Apr. 10). The 11-member class consists of the most influential student-athletes, coaches and administrators in the league’s history and includes six members with Ohio State ties: Doug Beal, Aldis Berzins, Ken Dunlap, Rich Duwelius, D.C. Koehl, and Marc Waldie.

“This is an important milestone for the conference,” Craig Barnett, MIVA Commissioner, said. “This class created the foundation for the league and paved the way for the MIVA’s continued success.”

The group will be honored Friday, May 5, in Columbus during the NCAA Championship weekend.

“Having a MIVA member hosting the National Championship gave us the perfect platform to honor the first Hall of Fame class,” Barnett said. “It’s going to be a special night and weekend in Columbus.”

Aldis Berzins – student-athlete – Ohio State University

1975-78 – Two-time MIVA Player of the Year – helped Ohio State to four MIVA Championships and four National Semifinal appearances, advancing to the championship match in 1977 – 1984 Olympic Gold Medal Winner – 2002 OSU Athletics Hall of Fame inductee.

D.C. Koehl – administration – Ohio State University
1973-12 – Longtime MIVA Sports Information Director and Ohio State men’s volleyball SID – earned USA Volleyball’s E. Douglas Boyden Media Recognition Award.

Don Shondell – coach – Ball State University
1964-98 – Co-founder of the MIVA – first MIVA President – eight-time MIVA Coach of the year – won 20 MIVA championships in 34 seasons – 14 trips to the NCAA tournament – 769-280-6 (.732) career record is the second highest number of wins in NCAA men’s volleyball history – 2003 AVCA Hall of Fame inductee – 1996 Volleyball Hall of Fame inductee – 1983 BSU Athletics Hall of Fame inductee.

Doug Beal – student-athlete/coach – Ohio State University
1960s-70s – 1969 MIVA Player of the Year – 1973 MIVA Coach of the Year – 1984 Olympic Gold Medal head coach – 2000 and 2004 Olympic Team head coach – USA Volleyball CEO – 1969 USVBA All-America Second Team – 1985 OSU Athletics Hall of Fame inductee.

Jackson Bailey – coach – Earlham College
1961-75 – Coached Earlham to NAIA District Champs in 1967 and NAIA Championship in 1969.

Jerre McManama – student-athlete/coach – Ball State University/Indiana Tech
1960s-80s – 1964 MIVA Coach of the Year at Indiana Tech – coached seven years at Indian Tech – Ball State women’s volleyball coach 1983-88 – Ball State men’s volleyball assistant coach 1970-86 – recipient of the George J. Fisher Leader in Volleyball Award – recipient of the Lifetime Achievement Award from Ball State men’s volleyball.

Jim Coleman – coach – George Williams College
1960s-70s – Co-founder of the MIVA – head coach at George Williams College in 1973, 1974 and 1976, winning the NAIA National Championship in 1974 – member of the Volleyball Hall of Fame – took part in seven Olympic Games, eight Pan American Games, five World Cups, six World Championships and eleven NORCECA Championships of which he was a co-founder – served as the head coach of the USA Men’s National Volleyball Team three separate times – 1992 Volleyball Hall of Fame inductee.

Ken Dunlap – coach – Ohio State University
1960s-1970s – Began the varsity program at Ohio State – 1965 & 69 MIVA Coach of the Year – 1969 team was undefeated 24-0 – started Sports Imports Incorporated.

Marc Waldie – student-athlete – Ohio State University
1974-77 – 1976 MIVA Player of the Year – 1984 Gold Medalist – NCAA All-Tournament Team three years in a row (1975-77) – 1977 Volleyball Magazine First Team All-American – Four-time All-MIVA selection – 2011 OSU Athletics Hall of Fame inductee.

Marvin Veronee – coach – George Williams College
1960s – head coach for original MIVA member George Williams – 1968 MIVA Coach of the Year.

Rich Duwelius – student-athlete – Ohio State University
1970s – 1976 All-MIVA First Team selection – 1984 Gold Medalist.