July 1, 2014


COLUMBUS, Ohio – The Big Ten Conference has revealed the schedule of league games for 2015, the inaugural season of men’s lacrosse as a B1G-sponsored sport. Ohio State will host Johns Hopkins and Maryland in 2015, while traveling for games at Penn State, Michigan and Rutgers.

“It is exciting for our program to now have the chance to compete for Big Ten championships like many other Buckeye teams,” Nick Myers, Ohio State head coach, said. “We understand the history and tradition of the Big Ten Conference and are looking forward to the opportunity to contribute to Ohio State’s success in the league.”

Ohio State’s first B1G match will be at Penn State the weekend of March 27-29 in State College, Pa. The Buckeyes and Nittany Lions have met each season since 2003 and 18 times overall, with Ohio State 5-3 in the last eight meetings between the teams.

The weekend of April 3-5, the Buckeyes will host Johns Hopkins, which was added to the B1G as an affiliate member for men’s lacrosse only. The teams faced off in Baltimore in 2014, with the Blue Jays coming away with a 10-9 win in triple overtime. The 2015 matchup will be the sixth between the teams, with the series dating to 1999.

The Buckeyes and Wolverines will face off as Big Ten foes for the first time the weekend of April 10-12 in Ann Arbor, Mich. Michigan moved to Division I for the 2012 season, with Ohio State winning all three matchups between the teams since that time. In 2014, the Buckeyes downed the Wolverines, 15-6, in the Showdown in the Shoe in Ohio Stadium, and Ohio State won the last meeting in Ann Arbor, 17-8, in 2013. Overall, Ohio State and Michigan have met 15 times (dating to 1966), with Ohio State 12-3 in those games.

Up next for the Buckeyes will be a home game vs. new B1G conference member Maryland the weekend of April 17-19. The game will be the fifth in the all-time series between the teams and the first since an NCAA first round game in 2003 in College Park, Md. The series between the Buckeyes and Terrapins began in 1990 and the 2015 game will be the first between the teams in Columbus.

The Buckeyes’ B1G schedule wraps up with a game at new conference school Rutgers the weekend of April 24-26. The series between Ohio State and the Scarlet Knights began in 1953, with the last matchup a win by the Buckeyes in 1999 in Piscataway.

The first Big Ten Tournament will be hosted by Maryland in College Park, Md. The tournament will featured a four-team field, with two semifinal matches April 30 and the championship May 2.

Specific dates for each B1G game, as well as the Buckeyes’ complete non-conference schedule, will be announced at a later date.