April 28, 2002%^$




%^$COLUMBUS, Ohio-The University of Illinois, the No. 1 seed in the 2002 Big Ten Men’s Tennis Tournament, defeated No. 3 Minnesota in the championship match at the Stickney Tennis Center Sunday. Michael Calkins scored the winning-point for Illinois by defeating Chris Wettengel, 6-1, 6-4, at the No. 5 position.%^$

%^$In doubles action, Illinois’ Phil Stolt and Brian Wilson started the match by defeating Manuel Lievano and Reven Stephens, 8-6, at the No. 2 position. Then, Minnesota’s Alex Zharinov and Avery Ticer downed Mike Kosta and Nathan Zeder, 8-4, at the No. 3 spot. Illinois’Amer Delic and Michael Calkins defeated Minnesota’s Harsh Mankad and Thomas Haug, 9-7, to win the doubles point for the Illini.%^$

%^$The Illini dominated the singles matches, only allowing the Gophers to win one match. UI’s Brian Wilson topped Thomas Haug, 6-3, 6-3, at the No. 2 position. UI’s Nathan Zeder defeated Avery Ticer, 6-1, 6-2, at the No. 6 spot.%^$

%^$Minnesota’s Alex Zharinov scored the only point of the match for the Gophers. Zharinov defeated Phil Stolt, 6-3, 6-0, at the No. 3 position. The victory was not enough to over come the Illini.%^$

%^$Illinois receives the Big Ten’s automatic berth for the 2002 NCAA Championship tournament. The NCAA regionals will be held May 11-12 at selected campus locations. The NCAA championships are May 18-27 in College Station, Texas.%^$

%^$Ohio State, ranked No. 19 nationally, will find out if it qualified for the NCAA tournament Thursday when the field of 64 teams is announced by the NCAA.%^$


(1) Illinois 4 (23-4, 13-0)%^$(3) Minnesota 1 (12-12, 7-6)%^$

%^$Singles **
%^$(1) Amer Delic (UI) vs. Harsh Mankad (Minn) Abandoned
%^$(2) Brian Wilson (UI) def. Thomas Haug (Minn) 6-3, 6-3
%^$(3) Alex Zharinov (Minn) def. Phil Stolt (UI) 6-3, 6-0
%^$(4) Mike Kosta (UI) vs. Manuel Lievano (Minn) Abandoned
%^$(5) Michael Calkins (UI) def. Chris Wettengel (Minn) 6-1, 6-4
%^$(6) Nathan Zeder (UI) def. Avery Ticer (Minn) 6-1, 6-2

%^$Doubles **
%^$(1) Delic/Calkins (UI) def. Mankad/Haug (Minn) 9-7
%^$(2) Stolt/Wilson (UI) def. Lievano/Stephens (Minn) 8-6
%^$(3) Zharinov/Ticer (Minn) def. Kosta/Zeder (UI) 8-4

%^$** Individual records entering Big Ten Tournament.