Langan also earns spots on All-Rookie Team and Second Team All-WCHA, along with senior defenseman Rachel Davis

COLUMBUS, Ohio – Hokey Langan, a forward on the Ohio State women’s hockey team, continued her remarkable freshman year by becoming just the second Buckeye to receive the WCHA Rookie of the Year award along with two other awards as the Western Collegiate Hockey Association announced its yearly honors Thursday.

Along with her Rookie of the Year laurel, the Chatham, Ontario, native earned spots on the All-Rookie Team and Second Team All-WCHA.

Langan took three of Ohio State’s five honors, with sophomore forward Natalie Spooner named First Team All-WCHA and senior defenseman Rachel Davis earning a Second Team All-WCHA nod. It is the first yearly conference award for both.

Langan made history this season with several achievements, including the first Buckeye to win the WCHA Scoring Title with 43 points in 28 league games as well as setting the Ohio State record for freshman scoring with 51 points (25g, 26a) so far. Her point total ranks second all-time in Ohio State season scoring, just three points shy of the record. She was named WCHA Rookie of the Week four times, tying the OSU record set by Spooner last season.

During the year, Langan also tied for the second-longest point streak in Buckeye history with a 14-game span from Oct. 16-Jan. 3. She has led the NCAA in freshman scoring throughout the season, currently atop the category with 1.42 points per game, good for ninth overall in the nation.

Langan joins Jeni Creary (2001-02) as the only Buckeyes to earn the WCHA Rookie of the Year award, appropriate considering Langan broke Creary’s freshman scoring record. Langan is the third Ohio State student-athlete to earn a spot on the All-Rookie team along with now-junior Shannon Reilly (2007-08) and recent Olympic gold medalist Tessa Bonhomme (2003-04).

Spooner, who had a strong freshman campaign with 1.00 points per game, returned with an even better sophomore year and has 21 goals and 42 points thus far. Her nine power-play goals ties for fourth in the NCAA and her 1.24 points per game ranks 17th. In conference-games only, she totaled 33 points and 16 goals to tie for fifth in both categories.

Davis, co-captain of the Buckeyes, has had a breakout season offensively with 15 assists and 21 points to tie for third overall in the WCHA in defenseman scoring. A stay-at-home blueliner the majority of her career, she continues to anchor the Ohio State defense and is a mainstay on both the penalty-kill and power-play units.

Numerous Buckeyes earned WCHA All-Academic Team awards given to sophomores or higher carrying a grade-point average of at least 3.0. Davis and Raelyn LaRocque earned their third nods, while fellow senior Michele Tonnessen picked up her first. Juniors Teal Bishop and Jenna Kilpatrick earned their second spots on the team, while eight other teammates were named for the first time: Barbara Bilko, Brittany Carlson, Deidre Facklis, Melissa Feste, Sandy Nelson, Shannon Reilly, Spooner and Kelly Wild.

Ohio State (17-14-5) upset defending NCAA champion Wisconsin last weekend with two overtime victories to advance to the WCHA Final Faceoff Saturday in Minneapolis. The Buckeyes will take on third-ranked Minnesota (24-7-5) in a semifinal game at 3 p.m. (CT) at Ridder Arena on the University of Minnesota campus.

Natalie Spooner, F So  Ohio State  Scarborough, Ontario
Emmanuelle Blais, F Sr. Minnesota Duluth Lasalle, Quebec
Emily West, F  Sr. Minnesota  Colorado Springs, Colo.
Anne Schleper, D  So. Minnesota  St. Cloud, Minn.
Jaime Rasmussen, D Sr. Minnesota Duluth Garden Grove, Calif.
Noora Räty, G  Fr. Minnesota  Espoo, Finland
Felicia Nelson, F  Sr St. Cloud State  St. Paul, Minn.
Hokey Langan, F  Fr. Ohio State  Chatham, Ontario
(tie) Holly Roberts, F Sr. St. Cloud State  St. Cloud, Minn.
Laura Fridfinnson, F Jr. Minnesota Duluth Arborg, Manitoba
Megan Bozek, D  Fr. Minnesota   Buffalo Grove, Ill.
Rachel Davis, D  Sr. Ohio State  Horton, Mich.
Zuzana Tomcikova, G So. Bemidji State  Bratislava, Slovakia
Brooke Ammerman, F So. Wisconsin  River Vale, N.J.
Caitlin Hogan, F  Sr. St. Cloud State  Oakdale, Minn.
Montana Vichorek, D So. Bemidji State  Moose Lake, Minn.
Stefanie McKeough, D Fr. Wisconsin  Carlsbad Springs, Ontario
Jennifer Harss, G  Fr. Minnesota Duluth Rieden, Germany
Hokey Langan, F  Ohio State  Chatham, Ontario
Katherine Wilson, F Minnesota Duluth Winnipeg, Manitoba
Brianna Decker, F  Wisconsin  Dousman, Wis.
Megan Bozek, D  Minnesota  Buffalo Grove, Ill.
Stefanie McKeough, D Wisconsin  Carlsbad Springs, Ontario
Noora Räty, G  Minnesota  Espoo, Finland
Players of the Year
Zuzana Tomcikova, G, So., Bemidji State
Felicia Nelson, F, Sr., St. Cloud State

Rookie of the Year
Hokey Langan, Ohio State

Defensive Player of the Year
Anne Schleper, So., Minnesota
Coach of the Year
Steve Sertich, Bemidji State

Turfer Outstanding Student-Athlete of the Year
Caitlin Hogan, Sr., St. Cloud State
Scoring Champion
Hokey Langan, Fr., Ohio State

Goaltending  Champion
Noora Räty, Fr., Minnesota