Ohio State’s Corey Elkins and Hayley Klassen nominated to participate in annual NCAA event; voting on open until Feb. 18
COLUMBUS, Ohio Senior hockey Buckeyes Corey Elkins of the men’s team and Hayley Klassen of the women’s team have been nominated to participate in the 2009 Frozen Four Skills Challenge. Voting opened Feb. 4 and continues until Feb. 18 online at

Fans can select six position players and two goalies for each gender of the East team and each gender of the West team. The original list of 140 players was trimmed to 68 by the selection committee. Fans can vote for their favorites among the 68 players, which are vying for the 16 spots on each team. The selection committee will take all voting into consideration prior to making its announcement of the final rosters by the end of February.

This is the fourth year of the annual competition for Division I and III men’s and women’s hockey players. Ohio State has been well represented during the previous three challenges with David Caruso and Jana Harrigan attending in 2006, Erika Vanderveer in 2007 and Tessa Bonhomme in 2008.

The Frozen Four Skills Challenge will be held April 10 at the Verizon Center in Washington, D.C. and will highlight the “Friday Night at the Frozen Four”. The night will also include the presentation of the Hobey Baker Memorial Award, the Hockey Humanitarian Award and the announcement of the American Hockey Coaches Association All-American teams.

Frozen Four Skills Challenge tickets go on sale Feb. 23 and can be purchased by visiting the Verizon Center box office, calling Ticketmaster at (202) 397-SEAT, or by logging on to