COLUMBUS, Ohio – Ohio State senior Cameron Heyward is among 36 preseason candidates for the 2010 Ted Hendricks Defensive End of the Year Award.

Heyward, who was named to the 2010 Playboy Preseason All-America Team in June, also is on the preseason watch lists for the Lombardi and Lott Trophy, among others. The senior from Suwanee, Ga., led the Buckeyes with 6.5 sacks and had 10 TFL for Ohio State’s Top 5-ranked defense in 2009. He led all defensive linemen with 46 tackles and had his best game of the year with 9.0 tackles and 2.0 sacks in the win at Penn State. A 2009 Second Team All-Big Ten selection, Heyward will anchor a defensive line that loses five off the unit from last year.

Now in its ninth season, the Ted Hendricks Award is named in honor of college football’s first three-time first-team All-American.  As a defensive end at the University of Miami, Ted used his agility, height and reach to block passes and kicks, force interceptions and pressure quarterbacks and running backs.  He roamed the front line, read plays and blitzed on impulse, completely transforming the way the defensive end position was played.  His professional career spanned 15 years and 215 consecutive games.  It included four Super Bowl victories, eight Pro Bowl selections and inductions into the College and Pro Football Halls of Fame.  It is in the spirit of Ted Hendricks’ aggressive style of play, winning attitude and determination that the Defensive End of the Year Award for college football’s premier defensive end is presented.

On-field performance, exceptional winning attitude, leadership abilities, contributions to school and community and academic preparedness are some of the criteria used to determine the Award’s winner.  Members of the national media, head coaches, professional scouts and former winners are included in the Award’s voting committee.  Candidates may represent any class (Freshman through Senior) as well as any four-year NCAA accredited school.  The candidate’s primary position must be Defensive End. 

Previous recipients of the Hendricks Award include: 2002 – Terrell Suggs (Arizona State), 2003-04 – David Pollack (Georgia), 2005 – Elvis Dumervil (Louisville), 2006 – LaMarr Woodley (Michigan), 2007 – Chris Long (Virginia), 2008 – Brian Orakpo (Texas) and 2009 – Jerry Hughes (TCU).
NOTE: This list is subject to change until the Final Mid-Season Watch List is issued in November.  Players may be added or deleted, depending on performance, injury, etc.  The 2010 winner will be announced on December 8.