NEWPORT BEACH, Calif. – Ohio State defensive standouts Cameron Heyward and Ross Homan have been named to the 2010 Lott Trophy Watch List, it was announced today in Newport Beach by Ronnie Lott and the Pacific Club IMPACT Foundation.

Heyward is a 6-6, 287-pound defensive tackle from Suwanee, Georgia who led the Buckeyes with 6.5 sacks last season.  He is the son of former NFL player Craig “Ironhead” Heyward.

Homan is a 6-0, 229-pound linebacker from Coldwater, Ohio.  He led Ohio State in tackles last season with 108 and interceptions with five.  In the Buckeyes’ Rose Bowl win over Oregon, he had 12 tackles and an interception.

Ohio State has had one winner in the first six years of the Lott Trophy – Linebacker James Laurinaitis in 2008 — and three finalists – A.J. Hawk in 2005, Quinn Pitcock in 2006 and Laurinaitis in 2007. 

“This is a superb list of young men,” said Lott as he announced the list.  “We at the Pacific Club IMPACT Foundation are always pleased to see the accomplishments of such outstanding student-athletes, all of whom are worthy of consideration for the Lott Trophy.”

Sponsored by The Pacific Club IMPACT Foundation, the award is given to a player who exhibit’s the same characteristics Lott embodied during his distinguished career: Integrity, Maturity, Performance, Academics, Community and Tenacity.  

Voters for the award include selected members of the national media, previous finalists, members of the Pacific Club IMPACT Foundation Board of Directors, the Legends Coaches and distinguished alumni of various schools around the nation.

The winner, who will be announced at the annual black-tie gala in December, receives $25,000 for his school’s general scholarship fund.  Three runnerups each receive $5,000. 

The previous winners of the Lott Trophy:
2004 – David Pollack, Georgia
2005 – DeMeco Ryans, Alabama
2006 – Dante Hughes, Cal
2007 – Glenn Dorsey, LSU
2008 – James Laurinaitis, Ohio State
2009 – Jerry Hughes, TCU
In six years, the IMPACT Foundation has now donated more than $750,000 to various charities. 

2010 Lott Trophy Watch List

Sam Acho, DL, Texas, 6-3, 260, Dallas
Akeem Ayers, LB, UCLA, 6-4, 252, Los Angeles
Mark Barron, S, Alabama, 6-2, 215, Mobile, Ala.
Jeremy Beal, DE, Oklahoma, 6-3, 261, Carrollton, Tx
Brandon Boykin, S, Georgia, 5-10, 185, Fayettville, Ga.
Rashad Carmichael, CB, Virginia Tech, 5-11, 186, Clinton, Md.
Ugo Chinasa, DE, Oklahoma State, 6-5, 252, Richardson, Tx.
Jared Crick, DL, Nebraska, 6-6, 285, Cozad, Ne.
Brian Duncan, LB, Texas Tech, 6-1, 240, Baton Rouge, La.
John Graves, DE, Virginia Tech, 6-3, 277, Richmond, Va.
Mark Herzlich, LB, Boston College, 6-4, 238, Wayne, Pa.
Cameron Heyward, DT, Ohio State, 6-6, 287, Suwanee, Ga.
Ross Homan, LB, Ohio State, 6-0, 229, Coldwater, Oh
Jeron Johnson, S, Boise State, 5-11, 194, Compton, Ca.
Tejay Johnson, S, TCU, 6-1, 212, Garland, Tx.
A.J. Jones, LB, Florida, 6-1, 226, Tampa
Greg Jones, LB, Michigan State, 6-1, 228, Cincinnati
Thomas Keiser, DE, Stanford, 6-5, 257, Wexford, Pa.
Ryan Kerrigan, DL, Purdue, 6-4, 263, Muncie, Ind.
Casey Matthews, LB, Oregon, 6-2, 235, Agoura Hills, Ca.
Cliff Matthews, DE, South Carolina, 6-4, 249, Cheraw, SC
Josh McNary, DE, Army, 6-1, 225, Houston
Wyatt Middleton, S, Navy, 6-2, 208, Norcross, Ga.
Von Miller, DE/LB, Texas A&M, 6-3, 240, DeSoto, Tx.
Dontay Moch, DE, Nevada, 6-1, 245, Chandler, Az.
Mike Mohamed, LB, Cal, 6-3, 237, Brawley, Ca.
Rahim Moore, S, UCLA, 6-1, 197, Los Angeles
Stephen Paea, DT, Oregon State, 6-1, 285, Los Altos, Ca.
Patrick Peterson, CB, LSU, 6-1, 211, Pompano Beach, Fl.
Robert Quinn, DE, North Carolina, 6-5, 260, Ladson, SC
Andrew Rich, S, BYU, 6-3, 223, Ogden, Utah
Greg Romeus, DL, Pitt, 6-6, 270, Coral Springs, Fl.
Kenny Rowe, DE/LB, Oregon, 6-3, 232, Long Beach, Ca.
Tyler Sash, DB, Iowa, 6-1, 210, Oskaloosa, Ia.
Kelvin Sheppard, LB, LSU, 6-3, 239, Stone Mountain, Ga.
Malcolm Smith, LB, USC, 6-1, 225, Northridge, Ca.
J.T. Thomas, LB, West Virginia, 6-2, 225, Ft. Lauderdale, Fl. 
JJ Watt, DE, Wisconsin, 6-6, 287, Pewaukee, Wi
Deunta Williams, S, North Carolina, 6-2, 205, Jacksonville, NC
Lawrence Wilson, LB, Connecticut, 6-1, 220, Tuscaloosa, Al.
Alex Wujciak, LB, Maryland, 6-3, 225, West Caldwell, NJ
Anthony Wright, CB, Air Force, 5-10, 190, Cleveland

Named after Pro Football Hall of Fame member, Ronnie Lott, The Lott Trophy is awarded to college football’s Defensive IMPACT Player of the Year. Founded in 2004 by The Pacific Club IMPACT Foundation, The Lott Trophy is the first and only college football award to equally recognize athletic performance and the personal character attributes of the player. The Lott Trophy is given to the player who exhibits the same characteristics Lott embodied during his distinguished career: Integrity, Maturity, Performance, Academics, Community and Tenacity. Voters for the award include selected members of the national media, previous finalists, the Board of Directors of the Pacific Club IMPACT Foundation and the Legends Coaches which is a distinguished group of former college football head coaches. The seventh annual Lott Trophy dinner will be held December 12th at The Pacific Club in Newport Beach, California. For more information on The Lott Trophy visit: