Aug. 25, 2005

ORLANDO– The Downtown Athletic Club of Orlando, Inc. (DACO), the organization which annually presents the prestigious Butkus Award® to the nation’s best collegiate linebacker has announced the preliminary list of 65 candidates for this year’s award. The Butkus Award® and the Downtown Athletic Club of Orlando, Inc. are celebrating their 21st anniversary in 2005.

The Butkus Award® Watch List will be trimmed to 10 semi-finalists on Thursday, October 20. That semi-finalist list will be cut down to three finalists which will be announced via a national teleconference with players, coaches, media members and Butkus Award® officials on Thursday, November 10. The winner will be announced Saturday, December 10, 2005 at the Butkus Award® Gala in Orlando, FL. The Butkus Award® will be presented to the winner by the award’s namesake former University of Illinois and Chicago Bear NFL Hall of Fame member, Dick Butkus. The finalists, their coaches and families are invited to attend the Butkus Award® Gala festivities including a welcome reception, golf tournament and silent auction.

This year’s Watch List includes 65 noteworthy candidates that represent schools and conferences from across the nation. The independent selection committee for the 2005 Butkus Award®, comprised of 29 of the nation’s foremost national media members, is solely responsible for all voting in the selection process. Selection Committee members have already started evaluating the candidates and will continue their review throughout the entire football season. Additional Watch List candidates may be added in the coming weeks. Voting for the three Butkus Award® finalists and the Butkus Award® winner will be conducted by confidential ballots of the selection committee.

The Butkus Award ® is regarded as one of the most elite individual honors in college football. Past recipients include such outstanding linebackers as: Derrick Johnson (2004-Texas) Teddy Lehman (2003-Oklahoma); E.J. Henderson (2002-Maryland); Rocky Calmus (2001-Oklahoma); Dan Morgan (2000-Miami (FL); LaVar Arrington (1999-Penn State);

Chris Claiborne (1998-Southern California); Andy Katzenmoyer (1997-Ohio State); Matt Russell (1996 Colorado); Kevin Hardy (1995-Illinois); Dana Howard (1994-Illinois); Trev Alberts (1993-Nebraska); Marvin Jones (1992-Florida State); Erick Anderson (1991-Michigan); Alfred Williams (1990-Colorado); Percy Snow (1989-Michigan State); Derrick Thomas (1988-Alabama); Paul McGowan (1997-Florida State); and Brian Bosworth (1985 and 1986-Oklahoma). Created in 1985 by the Downtown Athletic Club of Orlando Inc., the Butkus Award® carries the name and support of one of the greatest middle linebackers in football history, Dick Butkus.

Alexander, Rufus – Oklahoma
Alston, Jon – Stanford
Archer, Brandon – Kansas State
Blades, H.B. – Pittsburgh
Bray, Trent – Oregon State
Brooks, Ahmad – Virginia
Brown, Abe – Louisville
Bunting, Nick – Tulsa
Cannon, Anthony – Tulane
Cook, James – UCF
Davis, Bernard – Troy
Derting, Will – Washington State
Dobbins, Tim – Iowa State
Earls, Shomari – Florida Atlantic
Foliaki, Lee – Texas A & M
Gaither, Omar – Tennessee
Greenway, Chad – Iowa
Hall, George – Purdue
Hall, Korey – Boise State
Hargrave, James – Connecticut
Harris, Aaron – Texas
Havner, Spencer – UCLA
Hawk, A.J. – Ohio State
Henderson, Ray – Boston College
Hodge, Abdul – Iowa
Howard, Thomas – UTEP
Hoyte, Brandon – Notre Dame
Ingram, Clint – Oklahoma
Iwuh, Brian – Colorado
Jackson, D’Qwell – Maryland
Jensen, Cameron – BYU
Johnson, Brandon – Louisville
Johnson, Leverne – Troy
Jordan, Anthony – Toledo
Lee, Javan – Northern Illinois
Lobendahn, Joe – Washington
McGarigle, Tim – Northwestern
McLee, Kevin – West Virginia
Milan, J.J. – Nevada
Mohoric, Mike – New Mexico
Moore, Chris – East Carolina
Nande, Terna – Miami (OH)
Nicholas, Stephen – South Florida
Nicholson, A.J. – Florida State
Osemwegie, Moses – Vanderbilt
Parrish, Justin – Kent State
Piepkow, Teddy – Bowling Green
Posluszny, Paul – Penn State
Reid, Nick – Kansas
Sanders, Dontez – Wisconsin
Santiago, Byron – Louisiana Tech
Sartz, Dallas – USC
Siler, Brandon – Florida
Simon, Kevin – Tennessee
Sims, Ernie – Florida State
Smith, Kelvin – Syracuse
Taylor, Tony – Georgia
Toal, Brian – Boston College
Toone, Spencer – Utah
Vaughn, Cameron – LSU
Warren, Justin – Texas A & M
Washington, Thaddaeus – Colorado
Wilkinson, Gerris – Georgia Tech
Williams, Travis – Auburn
Woodley, LaMarr – Michigan