December 23, 2019

Hanson, Ohio State Named Nation’s Best of the Decade


Facebook | Twitter | Instagram

COLUMBUS, Ohio – Pete Hanson and the Ohio State men’s volleyball program he guided were selected as the NCAA’s best of the 2010s by a national voting committee assembled by Off the Block. Three national championships (2011, ’16, ’17) led to the most prestigious All-Decade honors coming to Columbus. Hanson nabbed Coach of the Decade recognition while Ohio State earned Program of the Decade distinction.

Off the Block Releases:
Ohio State named college men’s volleyball National Program of the Decade
Legendary Ohio State coach Hanson named National Coach of the Decade

Ohio State picked up 30 votes to beat out Long Beach State (22 votes) for the top spot.

Final voting results:
Ohio State | 30 votes
Long Beach State | 22 votes
Loyola Chicago | 5 votes
UC Irvine | 4 votes
BYU | 3 votes
Stanford | 2 votes

Hanson received 37 votes – more than all other coaches combined

Final voting results:
Pete Hanson (Ohio State) | 37 votes
Alan Knipe (Long Beach State) | 18 votes
Shane Davis (Loyola Chicago) | 5 votes
John Speraw (UC Irvine, UCLA) | 5 votes
Dan Friend (Lewis) | 3 votes
Charlie Wade (Hawaii) | 3 votes

Buckeyes in the 2010’s
Ohio State in 2011 won its first NCAA championship in program history as it defeated UC Santa Barbara in five games in the NCAA Tournament finals. In addition, Ohio State won back-to-back NCAA titles in 2016 and 2017 and swept BYU in the finals both years.

The Buckeyes under Hall of Fame coach Pete Hanson finished with a combined 216-85 record during the decade and at least 20 victories in seven seasons. It also both won the MIVA championship and reached the NCAA Tournament semifinals five times in the last 10 years.

Among the Buckeyes’ accomplishments this decade included setting a MIVA record with a 42-match winning streak that stretched from the 2016 to 2017 seasons. The winning streak was the third longest in NCAA men’s volleyball history and the longest for any Ohio State sports program competing in head-to-head matches.

A Buckeye won the MIVA Player of the Year six times during the decade — setter Steven Kehoe in 2010-11, opposite Shawn Sangrey in 2012 and outside attacker Nicolas Szerszen in 2016-18. Szerszen was the first three-time recipient of the conference award and in 2016 became the first Buckeye to win the National Player of the Year.

Pete Hanson
Hanson in 2011 guided the Buckeyes to the program’s first NCAA championship and then to back-to-back NCAA titles in 2016 and 2017. The Buckeyes under Hanson also won a conference-best five MIVA championships during the decade.

Hanson earlier this year following his 35th season with Ohio State announced his retirement and concluded his tenure as the winningest coach in program history with 700 career victories.

The Buckeyes since 2010 have seven seasons with at least 20 wins and a cumulative record of 216-85. In addition, Ohio State set a MIVA record winning 42 consecutive matches from 2016-17 and that included sweeping BYU in the 2016 NCAA Tournament finals.