April 11, 2019

Hanes, Leeson Earn First Team All-MIVA Distinction


FOLLOW @OhioStateMVB:         
Facebook, Twitter and Instagram

COLUMBUS, Ohio – Two Buckeyes were voted to the Midwestern Intercollegiate Volleyball Association’s First Team on Thursday (Apr. 11) by the league’s head coaches. Jake Hanes and Blake Leeson are among 12 student-athletes across the conference to be named to the 2019 All-MIVA First Team.

Both Buckeyes were Second Team honorees a season ago and this marks Leeson’s third career recognition after receiving All-MIVA Honorable Mention as a freshman in 2016.

Ohio State has placed multiple players on the All-MIVA First Team for five straight seasons and totaled 23 First Teamers in the 2010’s. Looking for the last time there was no Buckeyes on the First Team? You need to go back to 1997. Since the league’s inception in 1961, Ohio State has missed out on the All-MIVA First Team just five seasons (1961, 1962, 1965, 1971, 1997).

In addition, Ethan Talley secured one of the seven slots on the MIVA All-Freshman Team. Hanes and Leeson were All-Freshman squad members as well during their rookie campaigns.

Player of the Year: Matt Yoshimoto (Lewis)
Freshman of the Year: Ryan Serrano (McKendree)
Coach of The Year: Dan Friend (Lewis) & Nikki Sanlin (McKendree)

2019 All–MIVA First Team
Matt Szews, Ball State – Jr. – MB
Ryan Coenen, Lewis – Jr. – OH
Tyler Mitchem, Lewis – So. – MB
Michael Simmons, Lewis – Sr. – L
Matt Yoshimoto, Lewis – Sr. – S
Collin Mahan, Loyola – Sr. – OH
Garrett Zolg, Loyola – So. – S
Wyatt Dimke, McKendree – So. – MB
Jake Hanes, Ohio State – So. – OPP
Blake Leeson, Ohio State – Sr. – MB
Michael Keegan, Purdue Fort Wayne – Sr. – S
Pelegrin Vargas, Purdue Fort Wayne – Jr. – OH

2019 All–MIVA Second Team
Parker Swartz, Ball State – Sr. – MB
Julian Moses, Lewis – Sr. – OH
TJ Murray, Lewis – Sr. – MB
Adam Brewster, Lindenwood – Sr. – S
Connor Hipelius, Lindenwood – Sr. – MB
Avery Aylsworth, Loyola – Sr. – L
Paul Narup, Loyola – Sr. – MB
Will Tischler, Loyola – Sr. – OH
Zach Schnittker, McKendree – Jr. – OPP
Ryan Serrano, McKendree – Fr. – S
Richie Diedrich, Purdue Fort Wayne – Jr. – MB
Omari Wheeler, Quincy – Jr. – OH

2019 All–Freshman Team
Kaleb Jenness, Ball State – OH
Diego Negron, Lindenwood – OH
Phil Swartz, Lindenwood – OH
Luke Denton, Loyola – RS
Ryan Serrano, McKendree – S
Ethan Talley, Ohio State – MB
Noam Hannoun, Quincy – L