Jan. 8, 2001

%^$COLUMBUS, Ohio — Archie Griffin, associate director of athletics at Ohio State, was one of six former college athletes awarded the NCAA’s Silver Anniversary Award at Sunday’s NCAA Honors Dinner in Orlando.%^$

%^$The award is presented by the NCAA Honors Committee and goes annually to six former student-athletes who have distinguished themselves in their chosen professions since completing their college athletics careers 25 years ago.%^$

%^$Dr. William E. Kirwan, President of The Ohio State University, presented the award to Griffin, who still ranks as Ohio State’s all-time leading rusher and is the only two-time winner of the Heisman Trophy (1974 & 1975).%^$

%^$Griffin, who graduated from Ohio State in 1976, has been a member of the Department of Athletics since 1985.%^$

%^$Other Silver Anniversary Award winners included Alpha Alexander (College of Wooster), Steve Largent (University of Oklahoma), Steve Raible (Georgia Tech), Lee Roy Selmon (Oklahoma) and Wally Walker (Virginia).%^$

%^$In addition to the Silver Anniversary Award winners, eight current student-athletes were recognized for their combined excellence in athletics and academics – an award Griffin won in 1976, when he was honored as a Top V (now eight) recipient.%^$

%^$Secretary of Defense William S. Cohen, who played basketball at Bowdoin College, received the Theodore Roosevelt Award, the highest honor bestowed by the NCAA, and was the featured speaker at the dinner.