September 14, 2020

Getting to Know – Blake Collins

Share
Ohio State Buckeyes

ADDITIONAL INFO

FacebookTwitter | Instagram

Signing Day Release

COLUMBUS, Ohio — The Ohio State men’s soccer team added 10 new members to the 2020-21 squad. Get to know Blake Collins, a freshman defender from nearby Powell, Ohio.

If you could live anywhere, where would that be? Why?

If I could live anywhere it would probably be New York City. I like the city and being around a lot of people!

How many pairs of shoes do you have? Favorite ones?

I personally love shoes and probably have around 60 pairs. I like to collect shoes and sell the ones I don’t wear anymore. My favorite pair of shoes are my Human Races.

What is your favorite restaurant? Favorite menu item?

My favorite restaurant is Olive Garden. I love Italian food and think that Olive Garden is the best Italian restaurant. My favorite meal there would be the chicken Parmesan!

Morning person or night owl?

I am definitely a night owl! I usually stay up really late to get my homework and my tasks completed rather than waking up early to do them.

What is your favorite go-to snack?

My favorite go-to snack would be peanut butter pretzels!

Are you a coffee person? If so, how do you take it?

I am not personally a coffee person. All my friends enjoy it however so I will probably grow into liking it someday.

Favorite pizza topping(s)?

My favorite pizza would have to be a Meat Lovers pizza! My favorite pizza places are probably Jack-n-Does or Marions Pizza!

Favorite show to binge watch?

My favorite all time show would have to be How I Met Your Mother. If I had to pick another one it would be The Office. I have watched both of those shows multiple times.

What is your biggest pet peeve? What irritates you the most?

I don’t have that many pet peeves as a person although it does irritate me when someone is late to something!

What is your favorite dipping sauce?

My favorite dipping sauce would have to be ranch. I think that ranch could go on most of my snacks and meals.

Summer or winter?

Personally I like the summer. I like to be outside hanging out with my friends or be a pool! I also enjoying the lake and ocean in summer time as well.

Would you rather drive or be the passenger?

I would be the driver! I love to drive and could definitely drive for a while if I had someone else in the passenger seat.

What is your favorite holiday? Why?

My favorite holiday would be Christmas. I enjoy being with all my family and going home to see them!

What is your favorite social media app?

My favorite social media app would have to be Snapchat. It is funny.

What was your first job?

My first job that I had was working for a patio and landscape company. We would build patios and do work on people’s yards such as cutting their grass and mulching their house.

What was the first car you drove when you got your license?

When I got my driver’s license I was 16 and a sophomore in high school. The first car that my dad got for me was an all black Honda Civic after passing my driver’s test!

What was the first concert you attended?

The first concert I attended was in Columbus called Breakaway. This was a festival and a lot of the most famous rap artist would come and preform. The festival lasted three days long and I got to see some of my favorite artists at the time!

What was your first pet? What was its name?

My first pet that I can remember was a dog named Harley. She was a chocolate lab that was supper laid back and got to live to a pretty old age.

How did you get into your sport?

I have two older brothers that were both involved in soccer so naturally as the younger brother you want to follow in your big brothers footsteps. I was in the game starting with OYAA soccer and fell in love with the sport to continue playing it to this day.

Why do you wear the number you wear?

I always wear my number (30) for good luck and support. I have grown up my whole life with the same number so it has never got away from me. It is important to me to have my number for me to because it has been with me my whole life.

Who has helped you the most in your sport? How?

I think that my family has definitely supported me the most in my sport and the success I have had in my sport. Their constant support and love has helped me push through certain things and help get to where I am today.

Other than your sport, what sport do you like the most?

Other than soccer, I would say I like hockey the most. Most of my friends and I back home always watched hockey together so I grew up enjoying the game. My favorite team would have to be the Columbus Blue Jackets.

What’s your favorite moment in your sport?

My favorite moment in my sport was down in Florida during the All American game. I had the first goal in the game which then afterwards got to keep the ball I scored. I had a really fun weekend and that was awesome way to top it off!

What is your favorite city/place your sport has taken you? Why?

My favorite place that soccer has taken me would probably be San Diego, California. We had a really nice time on the beach and sight-seeing on our off time from soccer. I would definitely go back if I had the chance!

Ohio State Buckeyes