July 5, 2021

Fourteen Buckeyes Recognized as B1G Distinguished Scholars


For the 2020-21 academic year, 14 members of the Ohio State women’s lacrosse team were named Big Ten Distinguished Scholars.

Big Ten Faculty Representatives established the Distinguished Scholar Award in 2008 to supplement the Academic All-Big Ten program. Distinguished Scholar Award recipients must have earned Academic All-Big Ten recognition in the previous academic year, must have been enrolled full time at the institution for the entire previous academic year (two semesters or three quarters) and earned a minimum GPA of 3.70 or better during the previous academic year, excluding any summer grades. The Academic All-Big Ten threshold is a cumulative GPA of 3.00 or higher for a student-athlete’s academic career. In all, the B1G honored 2,132 student-athletes across the conference as Big Ten Distinguished Scholars for 2020-21.

The Buckeye honorees are below. Jillian Rizzo and Emily Skrzypczak were both recognized for posting a 4.0 grade-point average for the year.

Ali Beekhuizen – Sr. | Psychology | Fort Lauderdale, Fla.
Catie Beg – Jr. | Fashion and Retail Studies | Chagrin Falls, Ohio
Hannah Brink – Sr. | Human Resources | Eden Prairie, Minn.
Nicole Ferrara – So. | Communication | Morristown, N.J.
Mary Katherine George – Jr. | Psychology | Monmouth Beach, N.J.
Liza Hernandez – Gr. | Kinesiology | New Albany, Ohio
Clare Johnston – Jr. | Speech and Hearing Science | Kingston, Ontario
Ava Keethler – Jr. | Health Sciences | Upper Arlington, Ohio
Cai Martin – Jr. | Health Sciences | Howell, N.J.
Maura McGregor – Jr. | Communication | Colleyville, Texas
Jillian Rizzo – Gr. | Kinesiology | Queensbury, N.Y.
Emily Skrzypczak – Sr. | Psychology | Burke, Va.
Caroline Tatsuoka – Sr. | Mathematics | Hunting Valley, Ohio
Ashley Turner – So. | Sport Industry | Palm Beach Gardens, Fla.

Ohio State Buckeyes