July 1, 2021

Four Women’s Golfers Named Big Ten Distinguished Scholars


Four members of the Ohio State women’s golf team – Kristin Jamieson, Yukie Sasaki, Sofia Seldemirova and Skylar Thompson – were all named Big Ten Distinguished Scholars for the 2020-21 academic season.

Big Ten Faculty Representatives established the Distinguished Scholar Award in 2008 to supplement the Academic All-Big Ten program. Distinguished Scholar Award recipients must have earned Academic All-Big Ten recognition in the previous academic year, must have been enrolled full time at the institution for the entire previous academic year (two semesters or three quarters) and earned a minimum GPA of 3.70 or better during the previous academic year, excluding any summer grades. The Academic All-Big Ten threshold is a cumulative GPA of 3.0 or higher for a student’s academic career.

Jamieson, a finance major from Hillsboro, Ohio and Thompson, a speech and hearing science major from Buford, Ga., both played in all eight events this season, and both earned the Distinguished Scholar distinction for the first time. Sasaki and Seldemirova both opted out of playing this season but both worked hard in the classroom. Sasaki earned the honor for the second consecutive season while Seldemirova adds to her two-time All-America Scholar mantel with her first Distinguished Scholar award.

Ohio State Buckeyes