March 15, 2023

Four Buckeyes Named to All-Big Ten Teams


COLUMBUS, Ohio –  Four members of the Ohio State women’s gymnastics team have been named to All-Big Ten teams, the conference announced Wednesday. Payton Harris earns First Team honors while Lexi Edwards, Sydney Jennings and Nicole Riccardi are Second Team honorees.

Harris has had a breakout season for the Buckeyes as one of the best freshmen in the conference. She has won five event titles on the season – two on beam, two on vault and one on floor. The Franklin, Wis. native leads the Buckeyes with a career high 9.950 on vault this season, which she has hit twice. She has also earned scores of 9.900 or higher on beam and floor this year. The all-arounder has reached a career high 39.500 overall score for Ohio State and is a four-time Big Ten Freshman of the Week award recipient. She is the first Buckeye to earn First Team honors since Jamie Stone in 2019.

Edwards leads the Buckeyes on floor with a career high 9.975, which she earned in two meets this season. She has also recorded the second-best vault score on the team with a 9.925 in 2023. The senior has hit seven 9.900 or higher routines on floor for Ohio State this year. She also competes on uneven bars for the Buckeyes, earning a season high 9.875 on the apparatus. The All-Big Ten nod is her second in a row.

Jennings is one of the Buckeyes most consistent performers on beam and vault this season. The senior is tied for the team lead on beam (9.925) and has hit nine routines of 9.900 or higher on the year on beam and vault combined for the Buckeyes. Jennings has earned five event title this season, four on vault and one on beam. The second team award is her first All-Big Ten title of her career.

Riccardi has excelled on uneven bars in 2023 for Ohio State, earning a team-high tying 9.950 on the year. She reached the career-high score twice, once against Iowa and against vs. Maryland. She has four uneven bars titles this season, all of which came with scores of over 9.950. The junior has also competed on vault and floor this season for the Buckeyes. She earns second team honors for the second consecutive season.

Ohio State will compete in the evening session of the Big Ten Championships on Saturday, March 18. The Buckeyes will compete in the session against Michigan, Michigan State and Iowa from the Xtream Arena in Coralville Iowa. The session will start at 5:30 p.m. ET and be televised on Big Ten Network.