Chelsea Davis, Lindsay Quintiliani and Stefan Sigrist eligible for Academic All-America honors

COLUMBUS, Ohio – Four Buckeyes earned spots on the CoSIDA/ESPN The Magazine Academic All-District at-large teams, the College Sports Information Directors of America announced Thursday. Seniors Chelsea Davis (diving), Lindsay Quintiliani (field hockey) and Stefan Sigrist (swimming) were First Team All-District IV making them eligible for Academic All-America honors. Brad Smith, a junior of the men’s golf team, was named to the second team.

Awardwinners are selected by members of CoSIDA and must be at least in their second year at the institution with a grade-point average of 3.30 or higher.

Davis, a health sciences major from Columbus, was named the female winner of the 2010 Big Ten Medal of Honor Wednesday night at the Scholar-Athlete Banquet and earlier this spring she received the conference’s 2010 Wayne Duke Postgraduate Award. A four-time OSU Scholar-Athlete and three-time Academic All-Big Ten selection, Davis serves as athlete representative for the USA Diving – Site Selection and Rules Committees. She is a three-time NCAA All-American and earned All-America honorable mention in ’06 after winning the 3-meter event at the Big Ten Championships. Davis competed at the 2008 U.S. Olympic Team Trials, diving on the 3-meter springboard, and received All-America honors after capturing the 3-meter title at the 2008 NCAA Championships and also finished eighth on the 1-meter at the national meet and was named Tri-Diver of the Year.

Quintiliani, a speech and hearing sciences major from Mountain Top, Pa., is a four-time member of the NFHCA National Academic Squad as well as a four-year OSU Scholar-Athlete. She collected three Academic All-Big Ten honors while holding the team’s highest GPA all four seasons. A recipient of the program’s Buckeye Spirit Award in 2007, ’08 and ’09. Quintiliani backstopped the Buckeyes to a 12-5 record in 2009 with a 1.22 goals-against average and a .714 save percentage. She blanked five opponents to earn First Team All-Big Ten accolades as a senior while helping Ohio State to the NCAA tournament. She holds the Ohio State record for all-time wins with 40 and is second in shutouts with 14 with a career 1.59 GAA and 215 total saves.

Sigrist, a political science and economics double-major from Schaffhausen, Switzerland, was named the male winner of the 2010 Big Ten Medal of Honor Wednesday night at the Scholar-Athlete Banquet. He was a Big Ten Distinguished Scholar last year and is a four-time OSU Scholar-Athlete and three-time Academic All-Big Ten selection. In the pool, Sigrist was the Big Ten champion and an NCAA All-American in 2010. He won the Big Ten title in 1650 freestyle in a pool and school-record time of 14:50.46, and then placed fifth in the event at the NCAA championships to earn All-America honors. He also earned honorable mention All-America honors in the 500 free at NCAAs.

Smith, a finance major from Peru, Ind., repeats as a Second Team Academic All-District IV selection. The golfer was named a Big Ten Distinguished Scholar and is a two-time Academic All-Big Ten honoree as well as three-time OSU Scholar-Athlete. This season, Smith had a 73.63 stroke average to rank second on the team after competing in 27 rounds. He fired five rounds under par, including three in the 60s, and posted four top 20 finishes.