March 1, 2007

COLUMBUS, Ohio – Four members of the nationally-ranked Ohio State women’s hockey team were named to All-WCHA teams, the Western Collegiate Hockey Association announced Thursday. The four selections are the most in a season for the program and the OSU trio of high scoring defensemen Amber Bowman, Tessa Bonhomme and Lisa Chesson became the first Buckeyes to earn multiple All-WCHA honors in their career. Junior forward Erin Keys was the fourth Ohio State honoree. Eleven Buckeyes were named to the league’s All-Academic Team.

Bonhomme (Jr., Sudbury, Ontario/Sudbury Lady Wolves), who was selected as a Top 10 finalist for the 2007 Patty Kazmaier Memorial Award last week, was named to the first team. Although she missed four league games because of commitments to Team Canada, Bonhomme finished fifth in defenseman scoring with 23 points in 24 games. She tied for the most goals by a blueliner with nine and led the WCHA in overall goals by a defenseman with 14. The award is Bonhomme’s second league honor after being named to the WCHA All-Rookie team in the 2003-04 season. She was named WCHA player of the week three times this season.

Bowman (Sr., Innisfil, Ontario/Beatrice Jr. Aeros) and Keys (St. Paul, Minn./Cretin Derham-Hall) were both selected to the second team. Bowman, a first-team honoree last season, finished second in defenseman scoring and 10th in total points with 29 in 28 WCHA games (1.04 points per game). She tied for second with 24 assists and finished third in power play points with 18.

Keys had a breakout junior season, finishing third in scoring with 39 points, an average of 1.39 points per game in WCHA contests. She ranked in the Top 5 of several offensive categories, including power play goals (1st, 10), goals (3rd, 19), power play points (4th, 17) and assists (5th, 20). Overall in the 2006-07 season, Keys currently is second in the OSU record books for single-season scoring with 48 points. It is the first all-conference honor for Keys, who was named WCHA player of the week twice this season.

Chesson (Jr., Plainfield, Ill./Chicago Mission) picked up third team honors for the second season in a row. A two-time WCHA player of the week selection, Chesson also had a breakout junior season to finish third in defenseman scoring with 26 points in 28 games. She ranked eighth in both power play points (16) and assists (17), and finished tied for 11th in total points.

A total of 11 Buckeyes were named to the WCHA All-Academic Team, just behind Minnesota State and St. Cloud State who led the league with 12. Ohio State selections were Bowman, Keys, Olivia Antognoli (So., Granite City, Ill./Team Illinois U-19), Liana Bonanno (So., Mount Sinai, N.Y./Sound Shore Warriors), Jody Heywood (Jr., Regina, Saskatchewan/Regina Cougars), Megan Hostasek (So., Kimberley, British Columbia/Warner School), Whitney Miller (So., Anchorage, Alaska/NAHA), Mallory Peckels (Jr., Minocqua, Wis./Madison Capitols), Lacey Schultz (Sr., Kelvington, Saskatchewan/College of Notre Dame), Krysta Skarda (Sr., Lake Elmo, Minn./Stillwater) and Erika Vanderveer (Sr., Bradford, Ontario/Mississauga Jr. Chiefs). It is the second such honor for Bowman, Heywood and Peckels and third honor for Schultz and Vanderveer.

2007 WCHA Awards

All-WCHA First Team
Forwards: Sara Bauer, Wisconsin, Noemie Marin, Minnesota-Duluth, Gigi Marvin, Minnesota
Defense: Meaghan Mikkelson, Wisconsin, Tessa Bonhomme, Ohio State
Goaltender: Jessie Vetter, Wisconsin

All-WCHA Second Team
Forwards: Meghan Duggan, Wisconsin, Erin Keys, Ohio State, Jinelle Zaugg, Wisconsin
Defense: Amber Bowman, Ohio State, Bobbi-Jo Slusar, Wisconsin
Goaltender: Kim Martin, Minnesota-Duluth

All-WCHA Third Team
Forwards: Jessica Koizumi, Minnesota-Duluth, Erika Lawler, Wisconsin, Bobbi Ross, Minnesota
Defense: Melanie Gagnon, Minnesota, Lisa Chesson, Ohio State
Goaltender: Christine Dufour, Wisconsin

All-WCHA Rookie Team
Forwards: Meghan Duggan, Wisconsin, Holly Roberts, St. Cloud State, Saara Tuominen, Minnesota-Duluth
Defense: Holly Snyder, Minnesota State, Michelle Maunu, Minnesota and Ashley Lynch, North Dakota (tie)
Goaltender: Kim Martin, Minnesota-Duluth

Player of the Year: Sara Bauer, Wisconsin

Rookie of the Year: Meghan Duggan, Wisconsin

Coach of the Year: Mark Johnson, Wisconsin

Defensive Player of the Year: Meghan Mikkelson, Wisconsin

Outstanding Student Athlete of the Year: Riitta Schaublin, Minnesota Duluth

Goaltending Champion: Christine Dufour, Wisconsin

Scoring Champion: Sara Bauer, Wisconsin