May. 2, 2005

COLUMBUS, Ohio – After placing second overall at the 2005 Big Ten Championships, four Buckeye rowers earned All-Big Ten accolades, the conference announced Saturday. Diana Albrecht and Annabelle Fago both members of the first varsity eight, which finished second at the Big Ten championships, earned All-Big Ten First Team honors. Ninnett Kossowsky and Amanda Purcell garnered All-Big Ten Second Team accolades.

“We are really proud of the Big Ten recipients,” Andy Teitelbaum, Ohio State head coach, said. “It is wonderful to have our athletes recognized through the conference awards. They have been a big part of our success this year.”

This is the second consecutive year Albrecht has been named to the All-Big Ten First Team. Albrecht was a member of the First Team All-America and First Team All-Central Region last year. This is the first honor for Fago, who was the Big Ten Freshman of the Year last season. Fago also received Second Team All-America and First Team All-Central Region accolades last season.

The selection is a first for Kossowsky and Purcell for their contribution to the first varsity eight. Both rowers were honored earlier this season on March 28 when they received Big Ten Boat of the Week accolades.

Megan Gordon was also honored at the ceremony, receiving Big Ten Sportsmanship accolades.

2005 All-Big Ten Honorees

All-Big Ten First Team
Diana Albrecht, Ohio State
Ros Bialczak, Michigan State
Christen Brown, Michigan State
Annabelle Fago, Ohio State
Leah Ketcheson, Michigan
Nicole Lennart, Wisconsin
Erin Robertson, Michigan State
Vilma Stragyte, Minnesota
Michelle Trannel, Iowa
Amanda Walker, Indiana
All-Big Ten Second Team
Crystal Culp, Michigan
Shannon Gedman, Wisconsin
Ninett Kossowsky, Ohio State
Laura Lazaridis, Indiana
Jasmine Pickler, Michigan State
Amanda Purcell, Ohio State
Beth Ratterman, Minnesota
Brett Sickler, Michigan
Beth Smith, Michigan State
Nicole Stob, Iowa

Big Ten Sportsmanship Honorees
Megan Gordon, Ohio State
Colleen Gosa, Wisconsin
Andrea Pierce, Minnesota
Kirsten Rasanen, Michigan State
Emily Wagstrom, Iowa
Amanda Walker, Indiana
Margot Woolley, Michigan