March 15, 2012

Updated Brackets after Session I| Team Standings | 2012 NCAA Championships

ST. LOUIS, Mo.– A quartet of Buckeyes advanced in the championship bracket following the first session of the 2012 NCAA Division I Wrestling Championships Thursday afternoon at the Scottrade Center in St. Louis, Mo. Logan Stieber (133 pounds), Hunter Stieber (141 pounds), Nick Heflin (174 pounds) and Peter Capone (HWT) will wrestle for a spot in the quarterfinals Thursday night in the second session, which will begin at 7:30 p.m. ET. The second session will be streamed live on ESPN3.

Ohio State is tied for eighth place in the team race with 11 points. Penn State (25.5) has the early lead over conference rival Minnesota by .5 points, while Oklahoma State is in third place with 17.5 points.

The day began with redshirt freshman Josh Demas (157 pounds) winning his pigtail match, 2-1, over Mallie Shuster of Kent State thanks to a riding time advantage of 1:13. With the win, Demas advanced to the first round and garnered his first victory this season over the Golden Flash after dropping two matches to him earlier this campaign. The Westerville North high school product would later drop a tough match to No. 5 seed Ganbayar Sanjaa from American, 6-4, in overtime. Demas jumped out to a 4-2 lead on Sanjaa before a late escape in the second period and 1:34 of riding time accrued by Sanjaa forced overtime. Sanjaa would earn a takedown with 16 seconds left in overtime to end the match. Demas drops to the wrestlebacks where he will grapple with Donnie Corby of Central Michigan.

The 125-pound bout featured a tough loss from the Scarlet and Gray’s Johnni Dijulius as he fell to Virginia’s and 11th seed Matthew Snyder by a 3-2 score. Snyder won the match with a riding time of 1:46. Dijulius, a true freshman from Aurora, Ohio, will face Virginia Tech’s Erik Spjut this evening.

The second seed, L. Stieber opened up his first NCAA championships with a pin over Mason Beckman of Lehigh. The redshirt freshman owned a 10-0 advantage before the pin at 5:52. L. Stieber will move on to wrestle Jordan Thome from Army.

L. Stieber’s younger brother and No. 5 seed Hunter, also picked up a win in his first NCAA session. The freshman defeated Richard Durso from Franklin and Marshall College, 4-2, off of a first-period takedown, an escape and riding time of 1:07. H. Stieber will face No. 12 seed Tyler Small from Kent State in session two. H. Stieber defeated Small twice earlier this season.

The third Monroeville High School product (Logan Stieber and Hunter Stieber), No. 10 seed Cam Tessari (149 pounds), dropped a 10-8 decision to Harvard’s Corey Jantzen. The freshman Tessari came back from a 7-0 deficit, but could not pull out the win. He will square off with Lehigh’s Shane Welsh in session two.

Heflin, a redshirt sophomore from Massillon, Ohio, picked up a first-round win, defeating Ohio University’s Nick Purdue, 5-2. The ninth seed, Heflin was able to takedown Purdue with 20 seconds left in the third period to seal the match. He will grapple with conference opponent Lee Munster, the eighth seed, of Northwestern this evening.

In the 197-pound match, freshman Andrew Campolattano suffered a 5-3 overtime defeat at the hands of No. 11 seed Micah Burak of Penn. Campolattano had a 3-2 lead in the third period until a stalling point was awarded to Burak with 50 seconds left. In extra time, Burak scored a takedown with 16 seconds left. Campolattano moves into the consolation bracket and will face Maxwell Huntley from Michigan later today.

Redshirt sophomore Peter Capone upset No. 12 seed Matthew Gibson of Iowa State in the heavyweight bout by a score of 6-5. Capone scored a reversal on the Cyclone 10 seconds into the second period to make the score 5-2. Although Gibson scored a reversal in the second, the Buckeye from Johnson City, N.Y., escaped and coupled with riding time, held on for the win. Capone earned a match with No. 5 seed Bobby Telford of Iowa in session two.

Ohio State at 2012 NCAA Division I Wrestling Championship
Thursday, March 15-Saturday, March 17
Session One Results
Scottrade Center
St. Louis, Mo.

Team Standings (Top 10)
1. Penn State 25.5
2. Minnesota 25.0
3. Oklahoma St. 17.5
4. Cornell 17.0
4. Iowa 17.0
6. Illinois 14.0
7. Nebraska 12.0
8. Edinboro 11.0
8. Ohio State 11.0
8. Oklahoma 11.0
8. Purdue 11.

Individual Ohio State Results
Matthew Snyder (Virginia) DEC Johnni Dijulius, 3-2

No. 2 Logan Stieber PINNED Mason Beckman (Lehigh), 5:52

No. 5 Hunter Stieber DEC Richard Durso (Franklin and Marshall College), 4-2

Corey Jantzen (Harvard) DEC No. 10 Cam Tessari 10-8

Josh Demas DEC Mallie Schuster (Kent State), 2-1
No. 5 Ganbayar Sanjaa (American) DEC Josh Demas, 6-4ot

No. 9 Nick Heflin DEC Nick Purdue (Ohio), 5-2

No. 11 Micah Burak (Penn) DEC Andrew Campolattano, 5-3ot

Peter Capone DEC No. 12 Matthew Gibson (Iowa State), 6-5