April 24, 2006

COLUMBUS, Ohio – Jim Foster, Ohio State’s fourth-year women’s basketball head coach, was named 2006 Columbus Dispatch Ohio Coach of the Year for the second year in a row and third time in the last four seasons. Foster gained a total of 57 points in voting completed by Ohio’s women’s basketball coaches.

Foster, who recorded career win No. 600 during the 2005-06 campaign, has fronted the Buckeyes to a 59-8 (.880) record in the last two seasons. The two-time Big Ten Coach of the Year has guided the Buckeyes to their first back-to-back Big Ten titles since the 1985-86 and 1986-87 seasons. Last season, Ohio State also gained its first outright league title since the ’85-86 season and the program’s initial Big Ten tournament crown.

The Buckeyes also landed their first No. 1 seed in the NCAA tournament since the 1992-93 season. The No. 1 seed served as the fourth in Foster’s career. He has led his squads to 20 NCAA tournament appearances in 28 seasons of Division I coaching.

The 2005-06 Buckeyes led the Big Ten in seven statistical categories and rated second in the NCAA in field goal percentage after topping the country in that category in 2003-04 and 2004-05.

In his career, Foster is 606-253 (.705) and has amassed a 102-28 (.784) mark with the Buckeyes. In the Big Ten, the Foster-led Buckeyes have gone 50-14 in the last four seasons, including a 29-3 league mark in the past two conference championship campaigns.

Columbus Dispatch Ohio Coach of the Year – Voting

No. Coach School Pts. 1st Votes
1. Jim Foster Ohio State 57 10
2. Curt Miller Bowling Green 53 15
3. Kirk Martin Cedarville 24 3