April 24, 2000

COLUMBUS, Ohio–Ohio State shot a final round of 296 to claim the First Energy Intercollegiate Invitational Title with a total score of 969. The Buckeyes finished five strokes ahead of Kent State, which shot 280 to narrow OSU’s margin of victory by nine shots in the final round.

The Buckeyes had three of the top four finishers at the Invitational, hosted by the Universtiy of Akron at the renowned Firestone Country Club.

OSU was led by medalist David Wagenseller (So., Wilmington, Ohio/Wilmington), who claimed the individual title with a score of 214, edging out Kent State’s Ben Curtis’ total of 215. Mike Austin (Jr., Burton, Mich./Flint Powers Catholic) and Jason Oien (So., Westerville, Ohio/Westerville North) tied for third place with a score of 216.

Fossum Invite Up Next
The Buckeyes will return to action this weekend at the Fossum Invitational in Lansing, Mich. The first two rounds of the 54-hole invite will be played on Saturday. The third and final round will begin Sunday morning with a shotgun start.

Top Finish, Streaks
For the third weekend in a row, Wagenseller posted the best finish of his career. At the Marshall Invite (April 7-8) he tied for ninth place with a 219. Two weekends ago at the Kepler Invite, Wagenseller finished tied for fifth with a score of 220.

Austin and Oien had their top finishes on consecutive weekends. Austin tied for ninth and Oien came in at 13th at the Kepler before tying for third place last weekend.

First Crown since 1998
The First Energy Invite marked the first time OSU had taken home a tournament crown since the Buckeyes won both the Kepler Invite and Wolverine Invite in 1998.

That year, OSU shot a 863 at the Scarlet Course on April 28-29 to win the Kepler. Two weekends later, May 2-3, at the Michigan Invite, the Buckeyes placed first with a score of 854.

Wagenseller is the first OSU medalist since Ryan Armour captured the individual title at the 1998 Big Ten Championships in Lansing, Mich.

Last Year at Fossum Invite
Illinois won the Fossum Invite last year with a score of 873, 10 strokes ahead of second place Kent State. The Illini were led by medalist Larry Nuger, who shot eight-under at 208, eight strokes ahead of Kent State’s Ben Curtis and Jon Miller, who tied for second with an even 216.

OSU placed seventh at the invite and was led by Chris Emanuel’s 13th place finish (222).