April 24, 2000

%^$COLUMBUS, Ohio–Ohio State shot a final round of 296 to claim the First Energy Intercollegiate Invitational Title with a total score of 969. The Buckeyes finished five strokes ahead of Kent State, which shot 280 to narrow OSU’s margin of victory by nine shots in the final round.%^$

%^$The Buckeyes had three of the top four finishers at the Invitational, hosted by the Universtiy of Akron at the renowned Firestone Country Club.%^$

%^$OSU was led by medalist David Wagenseller (So., Wilmington, Ohio/Wilmington), who claimed the individual title with a score of 214, edging out Kent State’s Ben Curtis’ total of 215. Mike Austin (Jr., Burton, Mich./Flint Powers Catholic) and Jason Oien (So., Westerville, Ohio/Westerville North) tied for third place with a score of 216.%^$

%^$Fossum Invite Up Next
%^$The Buckeyes will return to action this weekend at the Fossum Invitational in Lansing, Mich. The first two rounds of the 54-hole invite will be played on Saturday. The third and final round will begin Sunday morning with a shotgun start.%^$

%^$Top Finish, Streaks
%^$For the third weekend in a row, Wagenseller posted the best finish of his career. At the Marshall Invite (April 7-8) he tied for ninth place with a 219. Two weekends ago at the Kepler Invite, Wagenseller finished tied for fifth with a score of 220.%^$

%^$Austin and Oien had their top finishes on consecutive weekends. Austin tied for ninth and Oien came in at 13th at the Kepler before tying for third place last weekend.%^$

%^$First Crown since 1998
%^$The First Energy Invite marked the first time OSU had taken home a tournament crown since the Buckeyes won both the Kepler Invite and Wolverine Invite in 1998.%^$

%^$That year, OSU shot a 863 at the Scarlet Course on April 28-29 to win the Kepler. Two weekends later, May 2-3, at the Michigan Invite, the Buckeyes placed first with a score of 854.%^$

%^$Wagenseller is the first OSU medalist since Ryan Armour captured the individual title at the 1998 Big Ten Championships in Lansing, Mich.%^$

%^$Last Year at Fossum Invite
%^$Illinois won the Fossum Invite last year with a score of 873, 10 strokes ahead of second place Kent State. The Illini were led by medalist Larry Nuger, who shot eight-under at 208, eight strokes ahead of Kent State’s Ben Curtis and Jon Miller, who tied for second with an even 216.%^$

%^$OSU placed seventh at the invite and was led by Chris Emanuel’s 13th place finish (222).