January 29, 2018

Former Buckeye Tuominen Named To Finland Olympic Team


Jan. 29, 2018

RELATED INFO: Follow the Buckeyes on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram2017-18 Schedule

COLUMBUS, Ohio — Ohio State University alumnae Minttu Tuominen has been selected to represent her native Finland at the 2018 Olympic Winter Games in PyeongChang, South Korea next month.

Tuominen will make her third consecutive appearance with team Finland after playing on the 2010 squad during her rookie year at Ohio State, and again in the 2014 games.

In 2010, Tuominen played on the bronze medal team that fell to Canada, 5-0, in the semifinal before beating Sweden 3-2 in the bronze medal game. In 2014, Finland dropped its quarterfinal game with Sweden, 4-2, and went on to beat Russia 4-0 to seal a fifth place finish.

“Minttu is an amazing player and her selection to yet another Olympic team is a testament to how hard she works,” OSU Head Coach Nadine Muzerall said. “Not every school can say they’ve got multiple Olympians among their alumni, but we’re lucky here at The Ohio State. Minttu has been a role model for many of our current players, showing them what they can achieve if they’re willing to work for it.”

Tuominen joins Natalie Spooner with Canada and Annie Svedin with Sweden as the former Buckeyes playing in the 2018 games.

Prior to this year, five Buckeyes have gone on to represent their country in the Winter Games. Tessa Bonhomme suited up for Canada in 2010 while Lisa Chesson wore the red, white and blue of the United States in 2010 as well. In addition to Tuominen playing for Finland in 2010, Emma Laaksonen made the fourth out of her five Olympic appearances in 2010 (she also played for Finland in 1998, 2002, 2006, and lastly in 2014). Spooner also appeared in the 2014 games with the Canadian team.

Twelve countries fielding women’s ice hockey teams will compete in the 2018 PyeongChang Winter Olympic Games from Feb. 11-22, 2018.