April 27, 2006

COLUMBUS, Ohio – Katie Smith, a two-time All-American guard at Ohio State from 1993-96, was named Thursday as a nominee for the WNBA’s All-Decade Team. The league office announced Smith, the first American professional women’s basketball player to score 5,000 career points, as one of 30 finalists.

The list of players – selected by a panel of national media, coaches, former players and WNBA personnel – will be voted on by fans, select national and WNBA-market media, and current WNBA players and coaches. Beginning Friday, fans can vote for the All-Decade Team at

The All-Decade Team will be announced in June and honored at the 2006 WNBA All-Star Game July 12 at Madison Square Garden in New York.

Below is a list of the 30 nominees for the WNBA All-Decade Team.

Name WNBA Team (Current/Last) Previous Team(s)
Janeth Arcain Houston Comets (1997-Current)
Sue Bird Seattle Storm (2002-Current)
Ruthie Bolton* Sacramento Monarchs (1997-2004)
Swin Cash Detroit Shock (2002-Current)
Tamika Catchings Indiana Fever (2001-Current)
Cynthia Cooper* Houston Comets (1997-2000, 2003)
Tamecka Dixon Houston Comets (Current) Los Angeles Sparks (1997-2005)
Jennifer Gillom* Los Angeles Sparks (2003) Phoenix Mercury (1997-2002)
Yolanda Griffith Sacramento Monarchs (1999-Current)
Becky Hammon New York Liberty (1999-Current)
Chamique Holdsclaw Los Angeles Sparks (2005-Current) Washington Mystics (1999-2004)
Lauren Jackson Seattle Storm (2001-Current)
Shannon Johnson San Antonio Silver Stars (2004-Current) Connecticut Sun (2003),
Orlando Miracle (1999-2002)
Vickie Johnson San Antonio Silver Stars (Current) New York Liberty (1997-2005)
Lisa Leslie Los Angeles Sparks (1997-Current)
Rebecca Lobo* Connecticut Sun (2003) Houston Comets (2002),
New York Liberty (1997-2001)
Mwadi Mabika Los Angeles Sparks (1997-Current)
Taj McWilliams-Franklin Connecticut Sun (2003-Current) Orlando Miracle (1999-2002)
DeLisha Milton-Jones Washington Mystics (2005-Current) Los Angeles Sparks (1999-2004)
Deanna Nolan Detroit Shock (2001-Current)
Ticha Penicheiro Sacramento Monarchs (1998-Current)
Nykesha Sales Connecticut Sun (2003-Current) Orlando Miracle (1999-2002)
Katie Smith Detroit Shock (2005-Current) Minnesota Lynx (1999-2005)
Dawn Staley Houston Comets (2005-Current) Charlotte Sting (1999-2005)
Andrea Stinson Detroit Shock (2005) Charlotte Sting (1997-2004)
Sheryl Swoopes Houston Comets (1997-Current)
Diana Taurasi Phoenix Mercury (2004-Current)
Tina Thompson Houston Comets (1997-Current)
Teresa Weatherspoon* Los Angeles Sparks (2004) New York Liberty (1997-2003)
Natalie Williams* Indiana Fever (2003-2005) Utah Starzz (1999-2002)