Release courtesy US Indoor Lacrosse

NEW YORK, NY — U.S. Indoor Lacrosse announced the roster for the U.S. Men’s National Indoor Lacrosse Team which will compete in the 2011 World Indoor Lacrosse Championship in Prague, Czech Republic next May. The roster was narrowed down following three tryout/exhibition weekends held in Wayne, NJ, Syracuse, NY and Baltimore, Md.

Former Buckeye All-American Kevin Buchanan has been named to the squad as a forward. Former Buckeye captains Anthony Kelly and Josh Funk have been named to the reserve squad. Five players from the reserve list will be named to the World Team roster in February.
“The chance to represent the United States at this elite level is the ultimate honor in lacrosse,” said USIL President and GM Graham D’Alvia. “I am honored and look forward to the opportunity to further develop this team that will represent our great country in this sport, both on and off the turf.”

The 2011 National Team includes four members of the 2007 National Team that finished third in Halifax, Nova Scotia: Scott Ditzell, Erik Miller, Chris Schiller and Matt Zash.

Newcomers such as Brian Langtry, Brendan Mundorf, Casey Powell, Paul Rabil and Drew Westervelt help comprise the most offensively potent Team USA to participate in the World Indoor Championships, while Eric Martin, John Orsen and Max Seibald headline the additions on the defensive side.

The World Indoor Lacrosse Championship takes place at Telsa Arena in Prague, Czech Republic on May 21-28, 2011. Australia, Canada, Czech Republic, England, Finland, Ireland and the Iroquois Nationals will join the United States in the one-week tournament.

Team USA Roster

F – Kevin Buchanan – Minnesota Swarm (Ohio State) F – Brian Langtry – Colorado Mammoth (Hofstra) F – Bill McGlone – Philadelphia Wings (Maryland) F – Brendan Mundorf – Philadelphia Wings (UMBC) F – Casey Powell – Boston Blazers (Syracuse) F – Paul Rabil – Washington Stealth (Johns Hopkins) F – Drew Westervelt – Philadelphia Wings (Maryland)

T – Greg Downing – Boston Blazers (Fairfield) T – Kyle Hartzell – Washington Stealth (Salisbury) T – Chris Schiller – Rochester Knighthawks (Penn State) T – Max Seibald – Philadelphia Wings (Cornell) T – Matt Zash – Rochester Knighthawks (Duke)

D – Mitch Belisle – Boston Blazers (Cornell) D – Scott Ditzell – Rochester Knighthawks (Syracuse) D – Eric Martin – Washington Stealth (Salisbury) D – John Orsen – Boston Blazers (Hofstra) D – Jack Reid – Boston Blazers (UMass)

G – Erik Miller – New York Titans* (Salisbury)

Reserve List

F – Sean Morris – Boston Blazers (UMass) F – Chris Panos – Chicago Shamrox* (Hofstra)

T – Matt Alrich – Edmonton Rush (Delaware) T – Jon Christmas – Philadelphia Wings (Virginia) T – Pat Heim – Philadelphia Wings (Penn State) T – Ryan Hotaling – Boston Blazers (Nazareth) T – Jarett Park – Colorado Mammoth (Syracuse) T – Brett Queener – Boston Blazers (Albany) T – Greg Rogowski – Boston Blazers (Merrimack)

D – Josh Funk – Minnesota Swarm (Ohio State) D – Anthony Kelly – Rochester Knighthawks* (Ohio State) D – Brett Manney – Washington Stealth (Delaware) D – Steve Panarelli – Philadelphia Wings (Syracuse) D – Joe Smith – Buffalo Bandits (Towson)

G – Ginny Capicchioni – New Jersey Storm* (Sacred Heart) G – Mickey Hover – Philadelphia Wings (Montgomery)

Five players from the Reserve List will be named to the World Team roster in February.

*Last pro team