Tressel and senior members of 2007 Big Ten Championship squad honored by Senator Ray Miller

COLUMBUS, Ohio – Head coach Jim Tressel and the 2007 Ohio State football seniors were recognized Tuesday by the Ohio State Senate for winning the Big Ten championship and advancing to the national title game.

Tressel and seniors Tyler Whaley, Brett Daly, David Lisko and Dimitrious Makridis represented the team as the Senate presented Resolution No. 186 in their honor. State Senator Ray Miller (District 15) introduced the Buckeyes on the floor of the Senate chamber. The OSU delegation, which also included director of player development Stan Jefferson and internal operations assistant Peter Galyardt, received two standing ovations. Afterward, many Buckeye fans and well-wishers clamored for autographs and photos.

The 2007 team will also be honored by the Ohio House of Representatives later this spring.