13 Defenders Selected Nationally By Maxwell Club of Philadelphia

Maxwell Football Club President, Ron Jaworski, announced the 2008 Semifinalists for the 72nd Maxwell Award for the Collegiate Player of the Year, the 14th Chuck Bednarik Award for the Outstanding Defensive Player of the Year, and the 20th George Munger Award for College Coach of the Year. The respective lists include a field of fifteen candidates for each of these awards as selected by the Maxwell Football Club Advisory Committee. Tim Tebow the 2007 winner of the Maxwell Award leads an impressive list of candidates for this season’s honor. In 2007 Tebow was the first sophomore ever selected as the winner of the Maxwell Award. On the defensive side of the ball Ohio State standout linebacker James Laurinaitis, a 2007 finalist heads up the list of candidates for the Chuck Bednarik Award.

The announcement of the winners of the Maxwell and Bednarik Awards will be made during the Home Depot ESPNU College Football Awards Show that will be broadcast on ESPN on Thursday December 11, 2008. Three finalists for each award will be in attendance for the ESPN broadcast. The Maxwell Football Club will announce the winner of the 20th George Munger Award via a press release in December. The formal presentation of these awards will be made at the Maxwell Football Club’s Awards Dinner, to be held on Friday March 6, 2009 at the Harrah’s Entertainment Complex in Atlantic City, New Jersey.

Voting for all three of the collegiate awards presented by the Maxwell Football Club will begin on Wednesday November 5th and close on Sunday November 23rd. Eligible voters include Maxwell Football Club members, NCAA Head Football Coaches, Sports Information Directors and selected national media.

All Semifinalists are listed in alphabetical order with the player’s school, position and class designated.

Semifinalists for the 72st Maxwell Award

Player School Pos. Class
Bradford, Sam University of Oklahoma QB Soph.
Brown, Donald University of Connecticut RB JR
Clark, Darryl Penn State University QB SR
Crabtree, Michael Texas Tech WR Soph.
Daniel, Chase University of Missouri QB SR
Greene, Shonn University of Iowa RB JR
Harrell, Graham Texas Tech QB SR
Maclin, Jeremy University of Missouri WR Soph.
McCoy, Colt University of Texas QB JR
McCoy, LeSean University of Pittsburgh RB Soph.
Moreno, Knowshon University of Georgia RB Soph.
Ringer, Javon Michigan State University RB SR
Robinson, Zac Oklahoma State University QB JR
Sanchez, Mark University of Southern California QB JR
Tebow, Tim University of Florida QB JR

Semifinalists for the 14th Chuck Bednarik Award

Player School Pos. Class
Berry, Eric University of Tennessee S Soph.
Cody, Terrence University of Alabama NT JR
Follett, Zack University of California LB SR
Hughes, Jerry Texas Christian University DE JR
Jenkins, Malcolm Ohio State CB SR
Laurinaitis, James Ohio State LB SR
Maualuga, Rey University of Southern California LB SR
Maybin, Aaron Penn State University DE Soph.
McCoy, Gerald University of Oklahoma DT Soph.
McKillop, Scott University of Pittsburgh LB SR
Orakpo, Brian University of Texas DE SR
Rolle, Myron Florida State University S JR
Spikes, Brandon University of Florida LB JR
Walker, Vance Georgia Tech DT SR
Weatherspoon, Sean University of Missouri LB JR

Semifinalists for the 20th George Munger Award

Coach School
Brewster, Tim University of Minnesota
Brown, Mack University of Texas
Dantonio, Mark Michigan State University
Davis, Butch University of North Carolina
Fitzgerald, Pat Northwestern University
Gundy, Mike Oklahoma State University
Johnson, Paul Georgia Tech
Leach, Mike Texas Tech University
Meyer, Urban University of Florida
Paterno, Joe Penn State University
Patterson, Gary Texas Christian University
Petersen, Chris Boise State University
Saban, Nick University of Alabama
Stoops, Bob University of Oklahoma
Whittingham, Kyle University of Utah