COLUMBUS, Ohio – Five Ohio State women’s soccer players are part of the 2010 Big Ten Conference’s class of recipients for the Big Ten Distinguished Scholar Award. The award is given to student-athletes who have earned a minimum grade-point average of 3.7 or above for the previous academic year.

Representing the soccer team are Courtney Jenkins, Caitlyn Martin, Ali Schwach, Danielle Scoliere and Liz Sullivan. Jenkins and Schwach are both two-time honorees after making the inaugural list last season.

Jenkins is a junior from Dublin, Ohio, and is majoring in physical therapy and Martin, a sophomore from Dublin, is majoring in accounting. Schwach, who finished her career this past season, is a microbiology major from Mendota Heights, Minn., while Scoliere is a sophomore operations management major from Dublin. Rounding out the women’s soccer Buckeyes on the list is Liz Sullivan, a Powell, Ohio native who is exploring majors.

In February of 2008, Big Ten Faculty Representatives established the Distinguished Scholars academic recognition to supplement the Academic All-Big Ten program. Similar to the Academic All-Big Ten honor, Distinguished Scholar Award recipients must be letterwinners in at least their second academic year at their institution. However, the new award encompasses only student-athletes with a minimum GPA of 3.7 or higher for the previous academic year, excluding summer school. The Academic All-Big Ten threshold is a cumulative GPA of 3.0 or higher for their academic career.

A complete list of the 2009-10 Ohio State Big Ten Distinguished Scholar Award winners is attached as a PDF.