March 25, 2016

COLUMBUS, Ohio – The 2016 Ohio State Scholar-Athlete Dinner will be held Tuesday, March 29 at the Archie Griffin Ballroom at the Ohio Union, marking the 49th edition of the banquet that recognizes the outstanding academic achievements of Ohio State student-athletes.

Each year, the Scholar-Athlete Dinner is capped with the presentation of the Big Ten Medal of Honor. Each member institution in the conference gives the award annually to the male and female student-athletes in the graduating class who have attained the greatest proficiency in both academics and athletics. The Big Ten Conference office established the award in 1914 for men and an additional award for the top female was instituted in 1982. The award includes a $5,000 postgraduate scholarship. This year, five women and five men are finalists for the Big Ten Medal of Honor. The five men who are being recognized as finalists for the award are: Jacoby Boren (Football), Chris Diaz (Tennis), Bryce Haynes (Football), Remington Lyman (Rifle), and Zach Mason (Soccer).

Jacoby Boren, football

Boren has played in 42 consecutive games for the football Buckeyes over the last three seasons and started 28 consecutive times at center, including in all 15 games during Ohio State’s 2014 College Football Playoff national championship season. He is Ohio State’s 21st National Football Foundation Scholar-Athlete and a two-time College Sports Information Directors of America Academic All-American, including first-team honors in 2015. Boren is also a two-time Big Ten Conference Distinguished Scholar, a three-time Academic All-Big Ten Conference honoree and a four- time OSU Scholar-Athlete as a sustainable plant systems major.

Chris Diaz, tennis

One of the leaders on the men’s tennis team, Diaz is a two-time All-Big Ten selection, including a unanimous first team selection in 2015. He qualified for the NCAA singles championship in 2015 and was one match away from earning All-American status. A two-time team captain, Diaz has led the Buckeyes to three Big Ten regular season crowns and two tournament titles and was a key member of the Buckeyes’ first ITA National Indoor Championship team. Diaz is a neuroscience major, a three-time Big Ten Distinguished Scholar and an ITA Scholar-Athlete. He also serves on the organizing committee for the Mary Diaz Memorial Tennis Tournament which has raised over $60,000 for pancreatic cancer research.

Bryce Haynes, football

Haynes was a four-year letterman for the Ohio State football team who handled all of the long snapping responsibilities for the Buckeyes over the last three seasons, including during the team’s 2014 College Football Playoff national championship season. A four-time academic All-Big Ten honoree and Ohio State Scholar-Athlete with a degree in biology, Haynes was a national finalist for the 2014 Wuerffel Trophy, which is awarded to the college football player who best combines exemplary community service with athletic and academic achievement. He won the Preston V. McMurry Scholar Athlete Citizen Award for best exemplifying the idea of “Education for Citizenship” through volunteer service.

Remington Lyman, rifle

Lyman has helped shape Ohio State into one of the top rifle programs in the country. The two-time All-American led OSU to just its second NCAA Tournament appearance this past season and earned second team NRA All-America honors in both the smallbore and air rifle and was part of the Buckeyes 2013 Western Intercollegiate Conference Championship. Lyman is a three-time OSU Scholar-Athlete and College Rifle Coaches Association Academic All-American. A Bucks Go Pro Intern, he will graduate with a degree in finance this spring and is already working with Chase Bank.

Zach Mason, soccer

Mason was a two-time captain and four-year starter as a midfielder from 2012-15 for the Ohio State men’s soccer team. The native of Galena, Ohio, became the second Buckeye in back to back years to win the Senior CLASS Award – given annually to the most outstanding senior student-athlete in Division I men’s soccer. A three-time Academic All-Big Ten selection and two-time Big Ten Distinguished Scholar, Mason guided the Buckeyes to their fourth Big Ten title, an NCAA Sweet 16 appearance and program-record 10 home wins as a senior in 2015.

The women’s finalists were revealed yesterday: Rebecca Rings (Track & Field/Cross Country), Catherine Shields (Rowing), Maddy McIntyre (Softball), Celina Merza (Fencing), and Michela Paradiso (Soccer).