July 1, 2021

Five from Softball Garner Big Ten Distinguished Scholar Accolades


COLUMBUS, Ohio – Five Ohio State softball players – Niki Carver, Tegan Cortelletti, Skylar Hayward, Megan McMenemy and Spencer Sanson – have earned Big Ten Distinguished Scholar honors for their exceptional work in the classroom during the 2020-21 academic year.

In order to qualify, student-athletes must have earned Academic All-Big Ten recognition in the previous academic year, must have been enrolled full time at the institution for the entire previous academic year and earned a GPA of 3.70 or better during the previous academic year, excluding any summer grades.

Hayward, a senior from Buford, Ga., was one of 18 softball players conference-wide to have a perfect 4.0 grade-point average for the year. She is majoring in health sciences.

Sansom, a graduate student who is pursuing her master’s degree in sport management, earned Big Ten Distinguished Scholar honors for the third time in her career. Carver and McMenemy are two-time honorees.

The Buckeyes’ five Distinguished Scholars caps off an impressive year in the classroom for the Scarlet and Gray, one that included 22 OSU Scholar-Athletes and 13 Academic All-Big Ten honorees. The 22 Scholar-Athletes represented 92 percent of Ohio State’s total roster and its 13 Academic All-Big Ten awards was 81 percent of those eligible.

Ohio State Softball 2020-21 Big Ten Distinguished Scholars
Niki Carver – Senior – Special Education
Tegan Cortelletti – Sophomore – Radiologic Sciences and Therapy
Skylar Hayward – Senior – Health Sciences
Megan McMenemy – Senior – Health Sciences
Spencer Sansom – Graduate – Kinesiology