July 1, 2021

Five Earn Big Ten Distinguished Scholar Honors


Five Ohio State wrestlers were named Big Ten Distinguished Scholars for the 2020-21 academic year – Dylan D’Emilio, Rocky Jordan, Kaleb Romero, Fritz Schierl and Zach Steiner.

Big Ten Faculty Representatives established the Distinguished Scholar Award in 2008 to supplement the Academic All-Big Ten program. Distinguished Scholar Award recipients must have earned Academic All-Big Ten recognition in the previous academic year, must have been enrolled full time at the institution for the entire previous academic year (two semesters or three quarters) and earned a minimum GPA of 3.70 or better during the previous academic year, excluding any summer grades. The Academic All-Big Ten threshold is a cumulative GPA of 3.0 or higher for a student’s academic career.

Jordan and Steiner both earned the award last year in 2020 while D’Emilio, Romero and Schierl all earned the distinction for the first time. Romero, D’Emilio and Jordan were three of seven Buckeyes to qualify for the NCAA Championships this season.

Ohio State Buckeyes