July 1, 2021

Five Earn Big Ten Distinguished Scholar Honors


Five Ohio State baseball were named Big Ten Distinguished Scholars for the 2020-21 academic year – Zach Dezenzo, Aaron Hughes, Tyler Kean, Patrick Murphy and William Pfennig.

Big Ten Faculty Representatives established the Distinguished Scholar Award in 2008 to supplement the Academic All-Big Ten program. Distinguished Scholar Award recipients must have earned Academic All-Big Ten recognition in the previous academic year, must have been enrolled full time at the institution for the entire previous academic year (two semesters or three quarters) and earned a minimum GPA of 3.70 or better during the previous academic year, excluding any summer grades. The Academic All-Big Ten threshold is a cumulative GPA of 3.0 or higher for a student’s academic career.

Dezenzo, a sport industry major from Alliance, Ohio and Pfennig, a finance major from Canton, Ohio both earn the award for the second consecutive season. Hughes (mechanical engineering), Kean (sport industry) and Murphy (kinesiology) all take home the distinction for the first time.

Ohio State Buckeyes