May 4, 2017

Five Buckeyes Selected for NCAA Singles & Doubles Championship


May 4, 2017

NCAA Singles and Doubles Selections
2016-17 Schedule
2016-17 Stats

Follow the Buckeyes on Facebook and Twitter

COLUMBUS, Ohio – Five Buckeyes have been selected for the NCAA Singles and Doubles Championship which will be played later this month at the Dan Magill Tennis Complex in Athens, Ga., after the conclusion of the team championship.

Ohio State is one of just four programs in the country with three players selected to compete in the singles championship as Mikael Torpegaard is the No. 2 overall seed, Hugo Di Feo is a 9-16 seed and JJ Wolf was an at-large selection. By virtue of their top-16 seeding, both Torpegaard and Di Feo have earned All-American status. This is the second-straight year as a singles All-American for Torpegaard and Di Feo’s first.

Torpegaard has been ranked either No. 1 or No. 2 all season and was a unanimous first team All-Big Ten Selection. He is 33-3 overall on the season and lost just one dual singles match. Di Feo was also a first team All-Big Ten selection and only lost two dual singles matches. He has been ranked in the top-10 of the singles rankings all season. Wolf, who only enrolled in January, jumped into the singles rankings in mid-March and rose into the top-50 with a stellar final month and a half of the season. He too was a first team All-Big Ten honoree and was named the conferences’ Freshman of the Year.

In doubles, Torpegaard and senior Herkko Pollanen qualify for the second-straight year and will be joined by the team of Di Feo and Martin Joyce. OSU is the only school with multiple teams in the doubles championship.

The NCAA Team Championship starts for the Buckeyes in Columbus on May 12 against Butler. The tournament runs through May 23 and the Singles and Doubles Championship will then start on May 24.